We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale hotel without upscale prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale hotel without upscale prices”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, the quality of the bedding, the free WiFi and the perfect breakfast to start the day I normally stay at they Hyatt nearby but the rooms at Comfort Suites are actually nicer. The gym is fine for basic exercise and you really can't beat the location right downtown.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPBizTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for the nice comments! All the rooms are 2 rooms suites so they are indeed spacious for a downtown hotel. Hope you will be back to Buffalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    218
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
192
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We just spent three nights at this hotel. The manager and her staff treated us with utmost respect and courtesy. Our room was clean and family friendly. The breakfast room was in a separate area and not in the front lobby...nice and quiet with staff cleaning up promptly as guests left. The front desk staff went out of their way to ensure that we had all of our needs met. We enjoyed the complimentary fresh baked cookies, gum and bottled water. The location was with walking distance to theatres, ball games and restaurants. Free parking close by. Rates were reasonable. Shopping malls a quick drive with google maps given by staff. i cannot say enough good about our stay. Will definitely come back! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucilleOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful comments. Glad you like the "little extras". We make fresh cookies and have free bottled water at front desk for check in/check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Great friendly staff - at front desk, breakfast and room cleaning !!!! Wonderful cookies at check in. Enormous rooms with all the amenities for make medium and longer term stays really comfortable. We've now moved all our corporate business to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you! Glad your company is happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I traveled to Buffalo with my boyfriend this weekend, and stayed in this hotel. The staff was rude, clueless, and completely unwilling to help at all. The rooms were disgusting - several spiders crawled around our room, and the window sills of our room were unfinished with saw dust and insulation scattered.

The lot out front is designated for handicapped and 10 minute loading parking. My boyfriend is in a wheelchair. At no time were the handicapped spots EVER free, and the cars parked there 9/10 times did not have a handicapped hang tag. We were happy to park in another spot in the lot, though the idea of people parking in handicapped spots freely has always gotten me really upset.

On our last night, we pulled into the lot and there was not a single spot open- handicapped or otherwise. No one was checking in or unloading, so the cars were just parked there for the night. Other parking for the hotel is off-site, and it is hard for my boyfriend to get around too far, so we needed to have a close spot. The staff said they would call and have cars moved, so we waited out front for 20 minutes. I went back in and the woman behind the desk had not called anyone. Instead of leaving a dead lobby to look at license plates, she rudely sent me outside to get the cars plates for her. She asked me to just keep waiting for people to leave, to which I explained we had to get up to the room since we had someplace to be shortly. When I brought her in the plate of the cars in the handicapped spots without hang tags, she told me she would TRY to get ahold of the owner, but they might get in trouble for parking in a handicapped spot. She very rudely explained to me that because my boyfriend needed the spot, the people who ILLEGALLY parked in that spot may get in trouble for parking there and asked if I was sure we needed the spot.

Instead of working to resolve the issue of the parking for us as a guest, she acted either rude or oblivious too the fact that we may need to park. I explained they deserved to get in trouble! They took a parking spot away from my handicapped boyfriend who CAN'T push very far. She not only was rude, she never did anything to help, or even direct us to other parking alternatives.

Unfortunately this was not a single occurrence - every interaction I had with the staff was reflective of this attitude.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieNYC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your candid and honest comments. I am very sorry about the poor parking situation you had. Unfortunately, many spots were taken because of renovations that just ended today at TGI Fridays restaurant. However, the handicap parking spots should have been empty. We do try to keep them open and it is unfortunate that people take them who shouldn't. We will address a better way to handle. Will look into the spider situation although have not had any other complaints. We do have monthly inspections by third party company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I've spent just one night at Comfort Suites Buffalo. All in all enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I arrived late at night, very tired. Check in was very prompt. Room was spacious, modern and clean. There were some problems with ac in room but solved quickly after a call to reception.
Breakfast service was not so great in my opinion. Poor choice and lack of free tables. I had to wait and finally sit with other guests. Not what I expected...
Nice lobby with comfortable sofas and local newspapers. Staff were very kind and helpful.

All in all I think it's quite a good hotel for a short overnight stay. I enjoyed interior design, modern rooms and downtown location. Breakfast service needs to be improved.
I can't rate the value because I haven't pay for this stay so I don't know what was the rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciejMaciej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for the kind comments. We too are happy with the renovations. Will look at the breakfast selection again. We try to keep different meat and egg selection everyday along with the waffle maker, breads, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juices, etc. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My name is Dr. Cyril E. Evans, Jr. from Snellville, Georgia. My wife (Sharon) and I normally stay at this particular holel every year. The hotel is excellent. We are very pleased. Now, this letter of appreciation is to say that Ms. Keyshia Doyce (breakfast-dining hall) is an outstanding hostess. She demonstrates excellent customer services.
She cares about people, and how they are treated. Ms. Doyce goes out of her way to assist all people with their needs. She is impartial to everyone's gender, creed, race, and social status. Please, I pray for her success in your operation. She displays managerial abilities.

Thank you,
Dr. Cyril E. Evans, Jr.
[----]

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evans1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Downtown Buffalo for a business trip in June 2010. We held an event in the city and needed a close place to stay when it was over. The Downtown Buffalo Comfort Suites was a great place to stay and the king suite... AMAZING! I don't even sleep that good at home. I would def recommend this hotel for Taste of Buffalo, Buffalo Wing Festival or other downtown trip needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynamesedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you so much for the nice remarks! We continue to hear very nice comments about the new renovations and the comfy beds. Hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing