We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing From Start To Finish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Gainesville, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing From Start To Finish!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow! This hotel was amazing in every way! The suite was more than that. You could easily stay for a week. Spotless, spacious, and comfortable. It seemed as if the entire hotel had been recently remodeled. They offered all kinds of extras from bottled water to a buckwheat pillow (that was VERY comfortable). Every staff member was extremely helpful and friendly. We were able to walk to the ball field. We recommend this Choice property to anyone going to the downtown area. :)))))

Room Tip: Upper floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Principal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. I am so happy to hear our accommodations met your needs, the set up certainly allows for privacy as well as comfort. It is always our pleasure to offer numerous free amenities, including the buckwheat pillow as a part of our Sweet Dreams sleep programs, cold water bottles and warm cookies on the week days. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I hope you enjoyed the game at Cocoa Cola Field! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    218
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
192
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is conveniently located at the center of the city. Staff members were very friendly and helpful. They honored a coupon we picked up at a highway rest area even though we have booked the room earlier. Parking is off site but close enough. There were descent choices for breakfast.
The suite was clean and roomy. When the bed room door is closed, you can hardly hear the TV playing in the living room area.
Great value for the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-y T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear you found our location convenient and the suites both clean and comfortable. Our staff works hard to provide each guest with outstanding service, so I am pleased that your experience was not an exception. The deal we offer in the Hotel Coupon Booklet is certainly great for travelers on the road although the rate is based on availability, I'm glad we were able to honor that rate for you! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We got this hotel thru Hotwire - so didnt know what we were booking until the credit card was charged. However from the time we reached the hotel till the time we checked out, it was pleasant experiences all thru.

The staff was extremely helpful and showed an intent to help. The ladies at the breakfast room were helpful to kids with replenishments, the reception staff was willing to help all the way. Mike (reception) stood out for us as he helped us to even look up for other properties, spoke to someone to get details, passed on all response back to our room. He even helped load our luggage in a cab as I was away for a while.

We even extended our stay by a day - at a slightly higher rate provided by the reception staff although we were getting a similar hotel in the same vicinity thru Hotwire.com site (the same guys who provided us this hotel).

We strongly recomend this hotel - the rooms are spacious, can easily accomodate a family or group of 4+ as all their rooms are Suites - bedroom plus front room. Their breakfast has good choices, no shortage of replenishments towards the end, and extremely helpful staff with a Want-To-Help-U attitude.

Thanks
K Bhandari

Room Tip: They have spacious rooms and good options for breakfast unlike some hotels which provide only the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the nice detailed comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Mike is a true asset to the hotel and I will be sure to recognize him for his exemplary service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Rooms were very comfortable. Staff responsible for breakfast were saints. One that stood out was Gwen. Many of the guest were rude and inconsiderate to other guest and to the staff keeping the Breakfast Bar filled. Gwen kept a smile and very patient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. We are lucky to have dedicated staff like Gwen. I will make sure she is recognized for her wonderful guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I had been use to quality with the Comfort Suite brand, but this property gravely disappointed. For some reason, housekeeping did not leave clean wash cloths or hand towels. Had to call the front desk everyday. I was on the 7th floor which reeked of smoke. The bath towels left stunk from tobacco. The maids gave you attitude that they had to come back to bring to your room what they should left initially. I did complain to the general manager, Matthew Spencer who did respond right away, did apologize and offered rewards points as compensation. I will give them another chance because of him. Just make sure your room is not on the 7th floor.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. Again, I am very sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are a completely smoke free property and those who choose to smoke in the room incur a $250 fine. I also apologize that the housekeeping service did not meet your expectations and I have spoken with our executive housekeeper regarding these issues. I very much appreciated the opportunity to rectify these problems and we look forward for the opportunity to improve upon your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taberg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stay here when I am on a business trip I love that Dunkin Donut is right across the street this is great for me. All rooms are king size beds and they do have a couch that pulls out for additional sleeping. Down size the parking garage is 2 blocks down

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for providing us with feedback about your recent stay. Our corporate guests are certainly valued and we appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed our suite set up and that Dunkin Donuts is so close by! I do apologize about the parking inconvience, being located Downtown does leave limited space for parking so we are fortunate to have worked out a deal with the Augspurger parking ramp on Pearl Street. We do provide shuttle service to and from the garage based on availability so please do not hestiate to request this service during future stays if you would like. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in town for a wedding a couple of weeks ago and we stayed here. The room was spacious with a sitting area and separate bedroom. My wife also enjoyed the little area in between the bedroom and bathroom which had a mirror and a little countertop where she was able to get ready. Everything was clean and nicely appointed. My only complaint was that the AC was weak. We couldn't cool the room off before we left but by the time we got back it was finally at a reasonable temperature. One more thing, this place has the slowest elevators I have ever been in and my wife almost got stuck in one. She was trying to get to the lobby when the elevator stopped and the doors opened to a wall. Other than that the stay was good. The hotel is close to many bars and restaurants. We would probably stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Its is always our pleasure to accomodate families and friends in town for a wedding! I am happy to hear you found the suite clean and spacious, the vanity area is certainly a great additional space within the suite. Our location on Main Street and Chippewa Street allows is indeed close to various bars and restaurants all within walking distance. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the AC upon arrival and further with the elevators throughout your stay. I will be sure to reach out to our elevator technician to ensure they are operating properly. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing