We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extended stay-excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Extended stay-excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My two night stay became 11 days due to a medical emergency affecting my daughter. Hotel provided a discounted hospital rate for my stay which really helped. But, the highlight of this stay was the staff--especially Mike and Dianne at the front desk and Gwen from breakfast. There were two other desk clerks who were especially professional and helpful, but unfortunately I don't recall their names.

I will stay again, in fact have already booked my next visit.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction on Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It is always our pleasure to offer discounted rates for patients as well as family and friends of patients of the surrounding hospitals. Mike, Dianne and Gwen are certainly great assets to our team. Our staff really goes above and beyond to make each guest's stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    215
    70
    29
    26
See reviews for
155
187
48
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bean Station, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely love this hotel!! We stayed here during my husbands surgery and treatments at Buffalo General Hospital. They have us a very cheap hospitalization rate, and were so accommodating. We brought our one year old baby with us, and were provided a pack n play. The bedroom is divided from the living area so we were able to put our little one to sleep and still be up in the living room. All the staff are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the beds and linens are very comfortable. I mean that too, because I am a "bed snob" as we have a tempurpedic at home. The continental breakfast was good- they serve eggs, waffles, breakfast meats, but also offer cold options like muffins and cereals. This is good for us as my husband and I aren't big breakfast eaters. While we were there my baby was sick and they gave us a free humidifier to use during our stay. They also offer free water bottles at the front desk anytime! We really enjoyed that! Parking is just a block down in a parking garage. It is free as they give you vouchers to use and can come and go as you please. We were very impressed by this as parking is ridiculous in downtown buffalo. We give this hotel A+++ rating!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeanStationTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are pleased and honored to work with the local hospitals in order to provide family and friends with an affordable rate. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our suite layout met your needs, even more so that you were able to utilize one of our complimentary pack n’ play and humidifier. I am thrilled to hear you found our accommodations clean and comfortable. Our complimentary breakfast continues to grow, as we add new items and expand its hours. Thank you again for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them onto our staff. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
endicott
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

What an awesome experience. You won't be disappointed. Went to the Shea and we walked. Clean hotel and clean STREETS! The suite was awesome. Spacious too. Special thanks to Gwen in the breakfast room. Hard worker and friendly! Thank you Gwen!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEndicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our location met your needs. Our location in the theater district makes us the closest hotel to a majority of the venues in downtown Buffalo. I also glad to hear you found our suites clean and spacious. Gwen is a valuable asset to our team and I'll be sure to pass your kind words along to her! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean. Location was perfect for our purposes - loved the easy access to the trolley. Parking not the greatest - had to walk 1.5 blocks to garage. At least we had good weather - would not want to do that in the winter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for providing us with a review after your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our suites. We are certainly lucky to be located adjacent to the above ground trolley system allowing free and easy access to the First Niagara Center, Coca-Cola Field and the water front. I do apologize for failing to meet your needs regarding our parking situation, unfortunately our location downtown requires us to make the most out of limited parking availability. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Rooms here are large, a sitting area, separate bedroom and bathroom. The room was super clean with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Wifi was easy and fast.
Breakfast is included in the am and was great- crowded but great. You can make your own waffles, creak, oatmeal, eggs, yogurts and more!
Did not use any other amenities. Staff very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Not street side, can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased to be able to provide our guests will all of the amenities you mentioned. I'm glad to hear you found our suites spacious and clean. We have just recently expanded our breakfast hours to 6:00am-10:00am each day to hopefully reduce congestion. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

On a trip to Niagra Falls we spent Easter Sunday in Buffalo so we could deal with a passport issue the next day. The hotel was perfectly located in downtown Buffalo (the city was also pleasant surprise, very clean, vibrant, interesting place), the rooms very spotless and comfortable and the staff's service was terrific. A really nice surprise was for our 2 sons, both tired from the long trip from Philly. As we were checking in the desk staff rushed to our room and hid a bunch of candy filled Easter eggs for them to find, so as we walked in the boys had a mini-Easter egg hunt! Very sweet touch. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am so glad to hear that you found our accommodations clean and comfortable after a long day on the road. We are very proud to be located in downtown Buffalo so close to many restaurants, bars and theaters. I'm thrilled that your two boys enjoyed their Easter Egg hunt, it was our pleasure to surprise them! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We arrived from Veracruz, via Houston, Washington and then Buffalo. We were tired and decided to spend the night in this hotel. The room was big, clean, the service just excellent. We live in Toronto and we want to go back and stay longer, and for sure we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hekate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. After such a long trip, I am very pleased to hear we were able to provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations. I am glad you found the suite spacious and we certainly look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing