We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apathetic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting with friends seemed desk was more interested in finishing conversation then answering our question. Girl even finished her story before assisting us. Second time was worse three at desk. Girl at desk saw us then got up and went back to talk with other two to say something unimportant guest should always come first no matter what and when asked a simple question seemed painful to get response. Horrible staff. That being said excellent room clean and comfy. Just don't expect any service

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank scott_achard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am not pleased to read about your experience with the front desk. Customer Service is the most important thing that we teach here and obviously we fell short. Please reach out to me at 716-854-5500(Matt) so I can make it right. I will also speak to my staff about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 678 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on our way up to Ottawa from New York City on16/09/13. It was a pleaseant suprise to get such spacious room, at the time we really enjoyed our stay. We would have easily given an excellent rating until this week, after being back in England for a month, when I found that the Hotel has taken over $200 from my credit card account after telling me when we checked out that we had no additional payments or outstanding bill to pay. The hotel was booked and paid for way back in April this year. Getting hold of anyone is proving extremely difficult. This have left us very dishartened after what was a holiday of a life time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about a lovely room. However, I am hoping you can reach out to me if your credit card charge has not been resolved. Hopefully it was just an additional authorization hold that was held until checkout for incidentals. I can be reached at 716-854-5500. Ask for the general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great value hotel in centre of Buffalo, suite style, huge rooms with kitchenette, good staff, Parking free on weekend but a two block walk away. Complementary breakfast, can get busy, but server staff do there utmost to keep up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyTyneAndWearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a "getaway" evening - This hotel is right downtown Buffalo and many restaurants are within walking distance. The check in staff were very friendly and room was large and clean. The breakfast the next morning had many selections. We have stayed here before and have always had a pleasant time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments and hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is smack in Buffalo's city and parking is a couple of blocks away....at least I didn't pay for parking but that could be because I am a Choice Hotels member. Not sure. The check-in was smooth and the room was gigantic. Awesome! Friday's is right downstairs so you don't have to leave the hotel to have a bite to eat. Breakfast was great...fabulous selection. Fresh waffles made..there is someone there to show you how to do it. I was a little confused at first. :)

Ok, so a couple of negatives...the rooms are suites...that means someone is probably going to be sleeping on the pullout couch. Well, unless you have brought some serious cushion like an egg crate you will be extremely uncomfortable sleeping in that "bed". My 17yr old son slept on it and can sleep on the floor and almost did. He said it was like sleeping on springs. Not good. I called the front desk and they sent up extra blankets and a fluffily bed cover. It helped a tiny bit but not much. Also, the tub is very very high which for most is not an issue but it might be for some.

So, there you go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orangutanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the detailed room. Glad your stay was overall a pleasant one. Sorry that the pullout couch was not the most comfortable and hope the size of the room and the other amenities made up for it. The positve is that all rooms are large king suites with privacy between bedroom and livingroom but the slight downside is that someone does need to sleep in a pullout. Even though the couches are just 4 years old and they are not used that much I will look into whether some need to be replaced. Thanks for the feedback Hope we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we arrived Jessica at the front desk was very courteous, offering us a bottle of water and diretions from the hotel to First Niagara arena. After check in we found the suite to be perfect to allow us and the other couple we were with to take a few minutes for everyone to get ready for our night out and still have a place to relax.
Overall, great service, clean room and plenty of space! It was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I have made a point of recognizing Jessica who is a fairly new but wonderful staff member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for one night arriving late at night from Toronto. Check in was ok, as we waited behind the people before us which took forever. But once we got to the suite, it was large and clean. Hotel internet works well too. Breakfast the next morning was included and it was good. We saw many airlines crew eating there. The downtown hotel location allows one to easily explore downtown Buffalo, which is an interesting/unrated city. We particularly like the view from the top floor of the City Hall (free access). The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to the airport -- this is really good for us as we came to Buffalo mainly because the flight back to West Coast was much cheaper departing from Buffalo than Toronto. Overall, we are pleased with our choice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
1,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $126 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing