We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Night”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a "getaway" evening - This hotel is right downtown Buffalo and many restaurants are within walking distance. The check in staff were very friendly and room was large and clean. The breakfast the next morning had many selections. We have stayed here before and have always had a pleasant time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    220
    71
    31
    26
See reviews for
160
194
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is smack in Buffalo's city and parking is a couple of blocks away....at least I didn't pay for parking but that could be because I am a Choice Hotels member. Not sure. The check-in was smooth and the room was gigantic. Awesome! Friday's is right downstairs so you don't have to leave the hotel to have a bite to eat. Breakfast was great...fabulous selection. Fresh waffles made..there is someone there to show you how to do it. I was a little confused at first. :)

Ok, so a couple of negatives...the rooms are suites...that means someone is probably going to be sleeping on the pullout couch. Well, unless you have brought some serious cushion like an egg crate you will be extremely uncomfortable sleeping in that "bed". My 17yr old son slept on it and can sleep on the floor and almost did. He said it was like sleeping on springs. Not good. I called the front desk and they sent up extra blankets and a fluffily bed cover. It helped a tiny bit but not much. Also, the tub is very very high which for most is not an issue but it might be for some.

So, there you go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangutanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the detailed room. Glad your stay was overall a pleasant one. Sorry that the pullout couch was not the most comfortable and hope the size of the room and the other amenities made up for it. The positve is that all rooms are large king suites with privacy between bedroom and livingroom but the slight downside is that someone does need to sleep in a pullout. Even though the couches are just 4 years old and they are not used that much I will look into whether some need to be replaced. Thanks for the feedback Hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we arrived Jessica at the front desk was very courteous, offering us a bottle of water and diretions from the hotel to First Niagara arena. After check in we found the suite to be perfect to allow us and the other couple we were with to take a few minutes for everyone to get ready for our night out and still have a place to relax.
Overall, great service, clean room and plenty of space! It was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I have made a point of recognizing Jessica who is a fairly new but wonderful staff member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for one night arriving late at night from Toronto. Check in was ok, as we waited behind the people before us which took forever. But once we got to the suite, it was large and clean. Hotel internet works well too. Breakfast the next morning was included and it was good. We saw many airlines crew eating there. The downtown hotel location allows one to easily explore downtown Buffalo, which is an interesting/unrated city. We particularly like the view from the top floor of the City Hall (free access). The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to the airport -- this is really good for us as we came to Buffalo mainly because the flight back to West Coast was much cheaper departing from Buffalo than Toronto. Overall, we are pleased with our choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The highlights:
Anyone with kids knows it's best to stay in a suite-like room. While this is no Residence Inn with a bedroom plus a loft and 2 bathrooms and a kitchen, for a small family (or taking only 1 with you) and 1 night, it's perfect. You can stay up and enjoy your stay in the living room part while the kids sleep in the bedroom you'll share with her/him when you feel like going to sleep.
It's clean, quiet, and comfortable. I didn't hear street noise.
The breakfast was nice and the staff were happy to show me the kosher symbols on the original cartons of the food products available to let me know my family can eat them. NOT all the processed food (like cereals) are kosher so you need to ask if you care. If you care about eating kosher for breakfast and want to avoid the trouble of asking, try the Comfort Inn University in Amherst (also part of the Choice Hotels chain) in the Jewish part of town where they actually have gone to the trouble of making a binder that shows the kosher symbols and ingredients lists for all breakfast products). Hopefully the Comfort Suite Downtown will offer that too.
The "low"lights:
Parking is a pain. They give you free parking at a parkade a couple blocks down, but I wasn't too comfortable walking down Downtown Buffalo to get to my car at night. There is a small parking lot but it literally has only about a half dozen parking spots, so unload your car if necessary at the entrance, then park the car, and bring it to pick up the family.
The security is discomforting but understandable. You can't even go up in the elevator without your security card, nor use the hotel washroom without one. Obviously necessary due to their experience with the street people using them.
Nonetheless, a lovely suite and I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePianoManII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

stayed there during July 4th weekend, was the lowest price (with advanced purchase rate) in Buffalo with a brand name I trust. It turns out to be of good value - it was a suite, with complimentary breakfast! You can even borrow DVDs from front desk. The only thing not good is that the parking is not free during the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Suites for a total of three months as there was some personal work and I was stuck in Buffalo. Comfort Suites provided a good rate for a long term stay and provided all the necessary services.

The manager Matt, was courteous and would always greet us with a smile. His staff equally follows suit. Breakfast was the same everyday; however when you have the same food everyday it does get a bit monotonous. Needless to say there are many other options in the area. Dunkin Donuts, Tim Hortons, Subway (down the road). The same is for your other eating options for lunch and dinner. The metro rail is right outside the hotel.

The housekeeping services were regular and efficient in their job. Dan, Kim, Jen, were all very helpful and friendly and would be there in a moments notice to any query I had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twentyfifths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing