We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This property is on the shabby, worn out side. The room layout (all suites) was what convinced me to book here, but I wont be coming back! The first thing I noticed upon walking in the room, was that the carpet stuck to my shoes like gum. Even the kids thought it was disgusting. Complained to the front desk and they moved us to another suite down the hall, which was a little bit better but was still sticky. To make matters worse the air condition in the suite did not work and we all woke up in a full sweat in the middle of the night. There was an alarm going off in the middle of the night which was due to the boiler in an adjacent building overheating. The place was packed with large groups in each suite, so the breakfast room was a madhouse in the morning. We couldn't get a table for the kids so we just left and ate elsewhere. All in all, the property is aged and clearly in need of a major facelift.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBum1964_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am very sorry you had an unpleasant stay. Unfortunately you are correct on the difficulty you had. Our hotel boiler room, which house's the hotels main A/C unit, had a heat sensor that went off thus shutting down the entire hotel A/C and setting off the alarm. All has since been repaired and now back on line. We did also have a large tour group in house that night and they all ate breakfast at the same time. Very sorry for that. I will also look into the carpet issue and if needed we will have the carpet shampooed. We did completely renovate the hotel 3 years ago and will definitely continue to make improvements. Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    215
    70
    29
    26
See reviews for
156
187
48
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days during our trip to Niagara Falls. Nice and economical to stay. Very good complimentary breakfast. Situated in the downtown of Buffallo city. Easy to reach.
Parking is about half a mile away which is only the minor negative point.
Highly recommended for the tourists on visit to Niagara Falls as the stay in Niagara is quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviA203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments! Glad you had a nice stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay at this property was enhanced by the desk clerk's recommendation that we see the fireworks at the waterfront. This included a concert band, lots of draft Labatt's beer, and grilled hotdogs, sausages, pizza, and barbeque. The fireworks (with a "soundtrack") were awesome and generous, lasting more than 20 minutes.

Our room was a well-designed and comfortable suite. It was equipped with two flat screen tvs, free wireless, and a compact kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was a zoo, so we took a pass and walked a few blocks to the Coffee Spot (on Chippewa, across from Starbucks). Great coffee and delicious breakfast offerings and a clientele that was a real cross-section.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAlawlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
So glad you had the chance to experience Buffalo at it's finest. The waterfront and all activities that happen throughout the year in that area are just 10 blocks from us and just a free train trolley away. Hope you return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I were on a road trip and Buffalo was one of our rest stops. Don't go by the lobby. The room was clean and very comfortable. You have to park your car one block away which was a little annoying but at least it was free. The free breakfast was the usual nothing outstanding. For a one night stay, this motel was perfect.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I had tickets for a baseball game at Coca-Cola Field. We were going to drive back home, but I found a good rate for this hotel and we decided to stay for a night. The hotel is close enough to Coca-Cola Field to walk to. We parked our car in the parking garage which is free during the week but costs $10 per night on the weekends. It is over a block away from the hotel. The garage was clean and the elevators were quick. It is locked during the night. Our room faced Main Street which would have been noisy during the week due to construction but was fine on Saturday night. The only noise we heard was the "whoosh" of the commuter train that runs down the centre of Main Street. The room was very clean and comfortably furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable and had lots of nice pillows. There were 2 TV sets - one in the bedroom and one in the living area. The sofa in the living area was a pull-out. There was a microwave and a small fridge.There was plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure in the bathroom. There was enough room to store toiletries and lots of towels were provided. We noticed that there weren't too many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, except for TGI Friday's and a pizza place. We ate at the ball park, so this wasn't an issue. In the morning, we enjoyed our complimentary breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty of variety and everything was kept well stocked. All the staff that we dealt with were helpful and friendly. We wished that we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Above Expectations

We stayed at Comfort Suites, Buffalo downtown, two nights, while attending a family wedding.

Location was great for the wedding activities
Close to the Marina
Almost spotless, modern
Good breakfast
Friendly and helpful staff
Very good customer service
Computer workroom was a great plus
Trouble with the room AC on the second night and we were given a nice credit by the hotel at checkout.

Try to not stay on the Main Street side – local bars are loud and do not close until 4 AM.

Parking – 1.5 blocks away. Was not a problem for me. I did get asked for money several times, but I am used to this.

It was a very favorable stay.

Room Tip: Bar noise - Main Street Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wives-would-not-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. Glad you enjoyed your time in Buffalo and here at the Comfort Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a Niagara Falls visit, which worked out fine. We had a rental which we had to park about 2 street up in a public parking place for which the hotel gave out some vouchers, so parking was free.

The frist night we stayed in room 220, which was right above the exhaust vents for the airconditioning for a group of buildings. The noise kept us up and we asked for a different room the next night. The desk-clerk asked us to pack our stuff, and when we got back that evening, our suitcases were in a new room, on the street-side of the building. Really easy-going staff.

Niagara is about a 20 minute drive (at around 10 AM, don't know about rush hour) and when you gat back in the evening there is a T.G.I. Friday's in the hotel for an easy meal.

Last but not least: we were used to simple hotel-rooms so a suite was a welcome change in scenery and a (semi-)descent couch to sit on was very welcome.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms in which you can see the airconditioning fans outside your window. (right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHalford82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to to give us a review. Glad you enjoyed everything and hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing