We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in downtown Buffalo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending the National Preservation Conference with my husband. Its a great downtown location (convenient to Shea's Theater and the Convention Center) and our suite was very nice and spacious. Complimentary breakfast was fine. Staff did very well, especially considering the masses of people in Buffalo that week attending the conference.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you for the nice comments. We were very honored to have so many in Buffalo visiting Buffalo's architectural gems. Hope you will return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 681 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

it sucked the worst they charge our card 150.00 extra for deposit and never told us about it and caused checks to bounce. what a bunch of thieves poor business people did not even tell us how wrong is that

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Della Corsi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

I am very sorry that you did not realize that as a hotel there is a $150.00 hold on debit/credit cards for incidental charges. After checkout your bank releases that hold usually within 72 business hours. We do mention that there is a $150.00 hold on our website, on hotel collaterol and on the registration card that is signed at checkin. If you have any further questions please contact me at 716 854-5500 and I would be happy to explain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were very pleased with our accommodations at the Comfort Suites in downtown Buffalo. We saw a show at the Shea's Performing Center and it couldn't have been more convenient. We were able to check in, eat and then walk to the show. The suite was fine with a nice living area and the bed were extremely comfortable. Parking is not on-site, but it was an easy walk to get to the garage and the parking was free. The complimentary breakfast the following morning was good and well stocked. The staff is friendly and willing to help, if needed. For a business person, the location would be excellent too. The transit line is right there on Main Street and on Sunday morning we took the train to the waterfront, and then enjoyed a walk back, looking at the superb architecture that was along the way. Just up the street from the hotel is the visitors' center and we found maps and guides there. We will stay again when we come to Buffalo for a show.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We are indeed in a great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have been a guest at your hotel for the past two weeks as I am on business in Buffalo. One of your guest service personnel, Gwen, has been so wonderful to me. She takes care of the breakfast area in the morning and has been very friendly and accommodating. She makes sure the area is clean and well-stocked. Please make sure you recognize Gwen for her excellent customer service. I will continue to stay here because of her great attitude as it makes my stay here very pleasant.

Alan Turczynski, Room 722

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cturczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for the nice comments! I have already commended Gwen!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very quiet and clean. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Carpet, walls, ceiling, furniture all in good condition. My initial concern about parking to walk a block after dark proved to be no worry. TGI Friday Restaurant next door and Dunkin' Donuts a block away is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhizAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Very glad you enjoyed your stay! There are indeed alot of coffee choices. Bedsides our free coffee at breakfast there are 5 places within walking distance - Dunkin Donuts, Tim Horton's, Spot Coffee, Coffee Culture and Starbuck's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Location, great. Along the theatre district, close to great shopping and great clubs/bars. Area is up & coming. Parking is included at this location and is conveniently located just a block from the hotel. The hotel is decorated with modern and trendy updated style. The fitness room is a good size and breakfast buffet, included with your hotel night is generous. A lot of choices for every lifestyle. Our room was on the 3rd floor, rm 307. Walk in and notice how updated it is, granite topped wet bar with coffee maker. Living room with pull out sofa, beautifully decorated curtains. French doors opened to the bedroom. Walk through dressing area to the typically sized hotel bathroom. Great lotions, hairdryer and lots of towels. Impressive to us were the contant reminders to save energy and costs by reusing towels. I love that. The black out curtains on each window a definate plus. The hallways in the hotel were maintained and brand new carpet was installed. The even floors had ice mahcines and the odd floors had vending machiens and a washwer and dryer. This hotel is a great place to stay with family or long term. It definately has all the comforts of home. We were there for pleasure, the Buffalo Bills vs Patriots game and found it extremely easy to get to Bill's stadium. The staff, and Michael were very professional and very accomodating to our requests and needs. Nice to be handed a nice ice cold bottle of water at check in as well! I own a travel agency, Mojo Travel so I really inspect everything in a hotel from hotel elavator cleanliness to microwaves, to fitness equipment and ths hotel definately passed every inspection! Great job! Lisa Fitzgerald, CTA www.gomojotravel.com

Room Tip: The King room is amazing, the beds are so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you! It is very nice to receive a review from someone who does as much traveling as you do and who has been to many, many hotels and knows what customer service is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Suites on Chippewa St. in Buffalo on a Saturday night. I was a bit skeptical because of it's being located on the end of a "party street" because we had to be up by 7am the following day to go to a Bills game. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the noise level was was at a minimum and we had no problems whatsoever geting any sleep.
This was a great hotel with very proffesional staff that were all very accomodating. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in town for any reason. We will certainly stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#12 of 25 in Buffalo
1,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $119 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing