We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good except for rate confusion.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good except for rate confusion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our overnight stay at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo was excellent as usual. I have absolutely no concerns with the hotel itself. Our room was attractive, clean and quiet and all of the service people we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We’ve stayed in this hotel several times, always with good results. My complaint, however, has to do with the disparity of rates we were quoted and the misinformation we were given.

I’d checked the rate on the hotel’s website and it said that the ‘Senior / AARP’ rate for the room we wanted was $125, however when I clicked on the rate details, it said that an AARP card must be shown. I found this confusing, as it also mentioned ‘Seniors’. I called the hotel directly and asked the reservation clerk if there was a seniors’ rate or just an AARP rate and was told that I must be an AARP member (I’m not) to get that rate. I asked what the regular rate for the room was and was told it was $209. That’s too high for me. I asked to speak with the manager on duty to see if the seniors’ rate couldn’t be applied. I was put on hold for quite a long time so I hung up and gave up on the idea of staying overnight.

Luckily I decided to call back later and spoke to a different reservations clerk (all calls were directly to the hotel). At that time, I was still told that I wouldn’t need an AARP card for the seniors’ rate but that no seniors’ rate rooms were available. However, I was told that the regular rate was $139 (quite a drop from $209!). I accepted that rate and we had a pleasant stay in the hotel.

On checking out, I mentioned to the clerk that the ‘Seniors / AARP’ note on their website is confusing and if they only give the discount to AARP members, they should delete the word ‘Seniors’. She said that whomever told me that was wrong and that non-AARP seniors are eligible for the discounted rate. I asked if I could still get that rate (approximately a 10% discount), she consulted with the manager on duty who agreed, and that brought my room down to the original seniors rate of $125.

I’m pleased to have gotten the discounted rate but it’s only because I thought to call back and then ask again at the desk that I got it. I could have easily cancelled the overnight and just spent the day in Buffalo. I wish the Hyatt Regency Buffalo would get this sort of this straightened out because otherwise it’s a perfectly lovely place to stay. The rate confusion is very frustrating, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review about the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. I would like to sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had with making a reservation. All of our reservations are made through a central office located in Omaha Nebraska. I will be sure to speak with the Manager at that location regarding your comments so that we can all be on the same page. However, I am pleased that you did have a great stay with us.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback, it is through your comments that we are able to improve.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    586
    253
    109
    94
See reviews for
408
418
78
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chattahoochee Hills, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice rooms, very helpful staff and very convenient if you're in town for a mtg at the convention center. Convenient to the trolley and Chippawa St. Restaurants. Unfortunately, it's not the most interesting part of downtown. Service in the restaurant is a bit slow. Bar area is nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hyatts are always a hit or miss....but this one is a hit. I had a clean, modern, large room. Very comfortable bed. Loved the unique touches like a small tube of toothpaste waiting for me in the bathroom, and touch screen elevators! This hotel also has an award winning steakhouse (which I didn't try).

Note: I got free overnight parking on Sunday night across the street in the parking garage. (The posted weekend rate was $2 overnight but the gate remained up until I left at 6 am.) Either way it's a cheaper option than hotel parking, while still close to the hotel and secure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review for the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We really appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests. It is very important to us as well as other guests that are looking to visit the area. All the feedback that we receive we review carefully and will make any necessary improvements where we may need them and share all the comments with our staff.

Most downtown hotels do not have onsite parking, but there are several parking options around the hotel as well as Valet Parking that includes in and out privileges.

EB Green's Steakhouse is located off the lobby and it is the #2 Steakhouse in the US. It has a variety of choices besides steak as well and the atmosphere is amazing. Next time you will have to check it out.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great experience, at a great location. Conveniently located on main street close to everything. The lobby was amazing and the staff went over and above to provide everything that we needed for our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to an event at FN Center, Coca- Cola field, Shea's or any other downtown location.

Room Tip: Great bar downstairs for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stazuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review for the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We really appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests. It is very important to us as well as other guests that are looking to visit the area. All the feedback that we receive we review carefully and will make any necessary improvements where we may need them and share all the comments with our staff.

We are located in the heart of downtown which is up and coming in the next couple years. There is a lot of construction for many new businesses that are relocating to the area. Whether you are hear for business or pleasure there is always something to do. Niagara Falls is also a short drive away and a must see! We also have an amazing Waterfront Harbor and a nearby hockey complex that is being built in front of the First Niagara Center where the Buffalo Sabers play. This will be the home for many hockey tournaments and a buzz for many tourists.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I travel often for work, and stay in many different hotels. When in Buffalo I choose to stay at the Hyatt. I choose the Buffalo Hyatt because of its awesome staff, great location, and clean and safe rooms. And, it is a great value I would also recommend this hotel for business functions. In addition to being a frequent guest at this hotel, I have hosted a business lunch, and presentation, using one of the hotel's conference rooms. This is a well run hotel, with a clear focus on guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hotel was in a great location. Close to shopping, great restaurants, and the very exciting Chippewa Street nightclub area. Staff was very professional and accommodating. Hotel was clean and quiet, and my room was the same. Also the self parking was easily accessible from the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed staying at the Hyatt in Buffalo,NY. It was easy to get to and very central location downtown for easy access to all of our events. We loved the modern room and all the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plz, Buffalo, NY 14202-2290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing