We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding front desk service and room very clean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding front desk service and room very clean!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Our front desk clerk was friendly and checked us in and we had a wonderful room which was very clean and nice. The room rate was excellent and they had a superb steakhouse on the first floor off the lobby. I'm sorry I don't remember the name of the steakhouse. There are lots of dining choices at this hotel. I did find the lobby to be very noisy with other people congregating around talking however, this hotel gave us exactly what we wanted and the accommodations were perfect! I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    586
    253
    109
    94
See reviews for
408
418
78
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
652 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very nice rooms. Nice reception area and great location. Not much else to say about the rooms, although they were a bit small they were very comfortable. I didn't have a laundry bag in my room 904 Dec 6 but that's about all I could find wrong with the room. I know the hotel will say I should call to have one brought up but I don't really want to feel stupid asking somebody to bring a plastic bag to the room. I will just stick it in my bag and hope there's one tomorrow night at the Phoenix Hyatt.
The workout room was nice but the swimming pool wasn't, you should just call it a pool. Too small for laps...
Anyway lots of places to eat around the hotel and it is in an excellent location in the downtown. the people were excellent and friendly during check in and in the reception area and OH YEAH, they have a freezer with ice creams in it at check in. I love it Thanks

If you think this was helpful please mark it so. Berny

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The poor service started with the reservation process. I had Stay Certificates for a weekend getaway. After planning a trip with my boyfriend, I call the reservation service to reserve the hotel for the upcoming weekend. I was told I did not provide enough advance notice to stay that weekend. The reservationist also informed me it was a manual process to check to see when the hotel was available and she could not just find the next available weekend. After a long process and multiple phone calls, the hotel room was booked. Upon arriving, the valet parking people ignored us and my boyfriend had to drive around the block while I figured out how parking worked. Our room was less than mediocre with no amenities. TV was not in HD and had bad reception. The room looked like the same furniture found in cheaper hotels. The internet was a separate fee. The workout room was fantastic, but I got stuck in the elevator going back up to my room and had to wait for maintenance to get me out. They do have a stainless steel swimming pool on the top floor that looks out on the city and lake. That is unique and worth seeing if you happen to stay at this hotel. On top of the poor service and mediocre room, I found out the hotel charged my credit card for both nights even though I had certificates. It took 2 long phone calls to straighten it out. Hyatt lost my business for good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo for a romantic getaway. We purchased the Romance package which includes a room with a KIng-Size Bed, your valet parking, your breakfast and your dinner at EB Greens steakhouse (won't do EB Greens again but that's another story) all for only $192.00. Very good deal.

Once we arrived the valet parking people were at our car assisting us right away. They were very courteous and professional. When we checked in the desk clerk was amazing. Since we had the romance package he immediately found us a room on the highest floor with a nice view of the city and waterfront all without asking. He fully explained where everything was in the hotel and made sure that we had everything we needed.

The room was very nice with a very comfortable king-size bed. The only thing that I would suggest is that they upgrade their television from a 32" and get high definition. Doesn't really motivate you to purchase one of their in room movies. Other than that everything was great. We called down to the front desk for some nice hotel robes, included for free, and they were brought to our room within 3 minutes. Amazing.

The breakfast the next morning was great. It was in the atrium area which is very nice. You could order something a la carte off of the breakfast menu or have the breakfast buffet. Both my wife and I opted for the buffet. Lots of choices including a made-to-order omelet station. The omelet was awesome. Breakfast is until 11am which is great if you're sleeping in.

Another nice feature of this hotel is that the check-out is not until 12noon. You can also check-out online, over your phone or over the television, which saves alot of time. Neither the parking, breakfast, or dinner were on the bill. Only the wine with dinner and the tips. PERFECT.

I called the valet station just before leaving the room and they said the car would be outside waiting within 15 minutes. Went down to the lobby 15 minutes later and there it was all warmed up and waiting. Great service. When in Buffalo I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77DICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriends--we were going on a wine tour. Our room was completely disgusting--I don't think it was ever cleaned. The floor was not vacuumed and we opened the dresser drawers to find it filled with soy sauce, duck sauce, used eating utensils and dirty clothes. We called housekeeping and they came and removed the items from the drawer but it still doesn't change the fact that our room was never cleaned and we were disgusted. There is no excuse for that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPHGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your room during your recent stay. This is absolutely unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. Our Housekeeping Manager will investigate who the housekeeper was that was responsible for your room and will take the necessary disciplinary steps to ensure that this never happens again. Once again, I do apologize for the disappointment of your stay. Your valuable feedback is important to us and helps us to improve.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanty Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I left the kiddies with Grandma to get away for a night and do some Christmas shopping.
Pros:
Web check in and check out was very easy to use.
Pool was stainless and offered a great view of the city.
Beautifully decorated for Christmas.
Complimentary robes on request.
Valet parking was very convenient .
Cons:
No hot tub.
Saunas didn't work.
No towels in pool area.
Bartender at Atrium bar not very sociable.
Overall a nice stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Among the early downtown Buffalo revival hotels,the HYATT REGENCY is a solid choice.Beautifully appointed atrium and lobby for the holidays,along with excellent in-house dining add to the experience.Booking mishap quickly and cheerfully addressed by the lovely Rebecca Felicetti (Registration attendant refused to help,but Rebecca stepped in to remedy)..Very good breakfast buffet overseen by Jonathan Dispenza who personally visited each table and is gracious and caring..E.B.Green steakhouse on site is excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_king99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review about the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. I am pleased to hear that your mishap with your reservation was quickly corrected. Rebecca is a great asset to the Hyatt Team and always willing to help our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet in the Atrium Bar and Bistro. Thank you for the positive comments about Jonathan, he is amazing with the guests and staff as well. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plz, Buffalo, NY 14202-2290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing