We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fairly reasonable option in Buffalo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“fairly reasonable option in Buffalo”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

this hotel is a bit far removed from 'trendy' Buffalo, but then, not much of Buffalo is trendy. and I doubt there are many hotels in the parts that are trendy. And we did manage to find a cool fusion sushi restaurant within walking distance that I recommend (seabar-reservations needed). the hotel is a bit too motel like to keep in line with what the Hyatt chain normally offers. But that said- it was cheap. I felt the parking was chaotic-self parking was not clearly explained, and it was clear they preferred you use their pricey valet service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review for our hotel. The Seabar is a great restaurant in walking distance along with a lot of other great restaurants. Our hotel guest rooms were fully renovated in 2009 and we are continuing to renovate the hotel in many other areas. We are currently in the final planning phases to renovate our front entrance and lobby area. It will look amazing when completed. We do offer valet parking for $20 per day and this does include in and out privileges. Many downtown hotels do not provide on site parking. We also have a parking garage that is located diagonal from the hotel that offers a lower rate but does not allow in and out privileges. On the weekends there is also off street parking available at no charge.
We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    597
    262
    113
    95
See reviews for
426
429
79
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Very nice hotel with very good staff. The lobby area was nice and the food was very good. The room was nice, tidy and clean. It was spacious enough and so was the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonfo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us during your business trip. We look forward to your next stay with us.


Jennifer M
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was excellent!!! The rooms were newly renovated spacious and clean. I will admit that I was not crazy about the wall covering behind the bed, but hey tastes vary. There was anything that you need at your disposal. The staff was efficient and friendly. They went out of their way to satisfy you. The concierge offered to drive me to the train station with their shuttle that only goes to the airport. There are negative reviews of the hotel on this site. Are we talking about the same place? How could anyone have a bad experience with such a beautiful hotel in a great location staffed with people who really care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBeau2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stay here every year when we pass through this area. The hotel is always clean and well maintained. location is good but parking is a bit difficult. We have stayed away from the breakfast the past few times because it was not very good and kind of expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing a Tripadvisor review online. We really appreciate your valuable feedback. It is important that every guest has a memorable stay with us. If there are any suggestion you would like to see change with the breakfast menu, please feel free to contact me. We are always looking for new idea's from our guests that will help us to improve.
Thank you for choosing Hyatt. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in many hotels this one is okay but perhaps the rooms are a little tired.... Silly things like the remotes don't work.....the rooms are dark.....the restaurant food is a little limited.....that said I found the staff in the restaurant very friendly.....however the concierge service, initially was a little disappointing, not very helpful and almost dismissive. That said it did get better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor review online. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had during your recent stay with us. We will speak with the housekeeping staff to make sure that everything is working in the rooms before a guest can check in. This is unacceptable and not something that should be missed in every room. We are currently in the process of making some changes to our menus. I am confident there will be something for you on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing Hyatt and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Jennifer Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hyatt is known for quality and this one has some fine attributes: a world class steakhouse in house, quality toiletries, marble bathroom, but they missed the mark in details. Things like badly smudged front door windows, trash blowing about (yes there was bad weather, but you should expect that in Buffalo and prepare to do a lot of touch ups as needed.) Didn't like paying $20 a night for parking but the area didn't feel safe, so I went for it. On the weekend, it's pretty sparse traffic. Also, only public area free wifi. The double beds were tiny and uncomfortable for more than one person. Even Holiday Inn offers double queens for a similar price. Convenient to downtown area. Will probably try Embassy Suites next time. They have river views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from September 8th through to the 10th. Upon arrival we were greeted with friendly smiles and lots of information. The Valet parking was wonderful. The conciege Kyle Johnson was so helpful. We were impressed.

Prior to our arrival we received a Welcome Letter (via e-mail) from Executive Assistant Jennifer Monge outlining the facilities, amenities and etc., which we really appreciated as we have spent lots of time in the Niagara Falls area, but not in the Buffalo area.

The hotel is clean, which is very important to us. We had a friend with us and had requested rooms close by and they accommodated us and also let us check-in early.

After a strenous day of shopping when we returned everyone made a point of welcoming us back. It was so nice. It does not take much to make people feel good.

We dined at both the Atrium Bistro and EB Green's and we were not impressed. The service was excellent, but the food left a lot to be desired. After 3 attempts to serve us dinner at EB Green's they did not charge us for our dinner. We told them that was not the intent, but they insisted.

We had a problem with some charges to our Visa and when it was brought to the attention of the Accounting Department they made every effort to correct the problem. Needless to say it took 3 days and a lot of telephone calls to get it corrected.

We may sound negative, but we are not. We had a wonderful time and unfortunately things happen. The manager of the Hyatt Regency Buffalo should be proud of his/her staff. I worked in Personnel for a Big Corporation and I know how hard it is to find employees who are customer drive and committed to their organization. You should be congratulated.

Would we return. ABSOLUTELY!!!

We had a Wonderful Mini Vacation!!

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontariocandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plz, Buffalo, NY 14202-2290
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing