We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for downtown Buffalo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for downtown Buffalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel has wonderful amenities, clean and spacious rooms, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. It is centrally located in downtown Buffalo, and there are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance. The valet service is quick and efficient too, which meant I didn't have to deal with parking. Overall this is an excellent hotel, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kind Executive suite - definitely worth the money because you get so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipGuenther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor about the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We are pleased to hear that you had an exceptional stay while you were here. Our team works very hard together to make sure that every guest has a memorable stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff as I will be sure to pass them along.
Once Again thank you for choosing the Hyatt and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    576
    251
    107
    93
See reviews for
402
417
78
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've had many opportunites over past 25 years to stay at the Hyatt Regency in Buffalo for business, whether one night stay or weekly accommodations. Every time it has been a great experience,ranging from the front desk, the room, the dining, the bar, the location, and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I were in Buffalo attending the Veterans Golden Age Gamesd from our first step into the Hyatt we were met with professional, courteous staff and continuous warm smiles and a true willingness to serve and provide. In EVERY area of our stay (five nights) the quality of service, food, accomodations and help in our daily explorations, the staff went above and beyond. We will definitely be back to Buffalo and there is no other place we will stay but the Hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: Try and stay above the sixth floor for great views of the city and the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 1 night on our way from ohio to boston. My husband wanted to take our children ages 7 and 3 to see niagara falls. fyi, drive about 20 minutes to the falls US side. We were able to book the government rate since my husband was on orders. We sometimes assume good rate means not so great room. Not so! Hyatt upgraded us to a jr. Suite!! Beautiful, clean and just enough space that our children had their own little space with a pullout couch (room 1610). Top floor corner room with amazing views of the city. We elected to park in the parking garage for 5 bucks since it was late after returning and we didn't need in/out privileges. Valet was super nice making us aware of our options without being pushy to pay the 20.00 valet rate. Appreciated this:)
Overall, hyatt is first class! You can't ask for more. Solid choice. Ps...it's about 9:30 pm and the parking garage had an armed security guard. I asked if we were safe and he said yes...since I'm here.....I would venture to say later in the night downtown buffalo isn't a walking city. Just our observation...oh and was given free wifi! Bonus!

Room Tip: 1610...jr suite quiet room top floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hokietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a good hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly. I only gave it 4/5 because door of the room I was staying in easily let noise in from the hallway. If they would just install doors that are essentially weatherized or whatever so that noise from the hall doesn't enter the building then it will be fine. Overall this is a great hotel. It seems like an updated building that is very old. The main question is why exactly would anyone in their right mind visit buffalo? I had an event but the area is completely depressed to the point that I think business in the area is so depressed that I can't imagine this hotel making enough money to put a lot into improvements but if they fixed the doors that'd be a great step in the right direction. Overall a great stay and you can't go wrong staying here if you should happen to have the misfortune of ending up in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDtraveler92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff of the Hyatt were great to work with. They all were very helpful!!! I was the coordinator for a wedding and many of the guests stayed with the Hyatt. The staff halped everyone check in and were great to work with. Being from Michigan they were helpful on places to go and things to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views and the size was wonderful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

In the early 1900's Buffalo NY was one of the richest cities in the USA. Main Street was bustling with street cars, autos, pedestrians and many shops. Not any more. This sad city has a strangely third world feel to it, with many street people and more abandoned storefronts than occupied ones.

The Hyatt Regency sits in the sad shadow of Main Street's glory. It has a faded exterior, with grass growing in the cracks of its uneven paving blocks. The lobby has been redone but was crowded with folding tables and other meeting/convention type things during my 5 day stay. By far, the coolest thing is the elevators which have an animated video game style touch screen to select your floor.

My first impression arriving at my floor was the loudest ice machine and vending machine I have ever heard. Fortunately my room was far away from it. I noticed that all the floors have the same noisy vending area which is near the elevators. By the way, the only thing vending is water and soda at $2.50 a pop.

The rooms could have used some feng shui. The layout is strange, perhaps because this is a retrofitted office building. The lighting is all CFT bulbs in lamp fixture, there is a small fridge and a toy coffee maker.

The housekeeping was inconsistent. One day no bath mat, another no hand towels, sometimes only decaf coffee pouches, other times no replenishment, sometimes no sugar packets. One person in my group had his room not made up at all on one day.

Under the desk was a tangle of wires. My phone couldn't get incoming calls which took me several days to figure out. The door security chain was hanging loose, attached by one bent screw,

There is valet parking for $20 a day, but you can park in another lot a block away for $5 a day.

By far the best part of my stay was the E B Green's steak house just off the lobby. A world class place to get a steak!

All in all the Hyatt Regency Buffalo is a disappointment.

Room Tip: Be far away from the very very noisy ice and vending machines which are near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

While it's true that Buffalo has gone through some tough economic times there is a renaissance now going on where development investment has not been seen for many decades. We are extremely excited about the emergent of the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus which is just a few blocks North of the hotel and just a few blocks South the development of Canal Side will attract visitors to Buffalo. The Hyatt is fortunate to be right in the core of these two emerging developments.

I can't apologize enough for the vending area. Our Director of Engineering is currently looking into this to correct the situation.

It is unacceptable that the housekeeping is inconsistent. This has been already addressed with the Rooms Executive Manager so that no other guests have this issue.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing