We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Tier Rooms.....that is the only explanation I can give that AAA rates 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Two Tier Rooms.....that is the only explanation I can give that AAA rates 3*”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I really think this is one of those hotels that give you a better room depending on the rate you pay. This is since there is no way the room I was in was close to 3 stars or diamonds per the AAA rating. If that is the game they want to play fine, but I will review what I thought I would get.....a three star hotel room....and I got perhaps a 2....which would be fine if I was paying $30 a night. Having read about the noise issues, I e-mailed the manager in advance to request a room that was on the quiet side. I was given a room at the end of the side facing the highway....however, it really does not matter since there is an exit ramp from the I90 that gets off just along the entire length of the hotel....and with no sound proofing, any harley or semi using their engine breaks is going to wake you up. The walls are also paper thin. Again, I wonder if you pay less you get a room on a floor with fewer people...

As such, be warned that this has to be one of the loudest hotels I have ever stayed in. In fact, I turned on the very loud AC since at least that helped one get to sleep versus the road noice. I do not even think it was worth the $50 per night paid on Priceline. Management was very good on check in and in advance and so on the customer service front, they get good marks.

I would, however, not stay here again. Not because it's a older and not the best hotel....I just expect a 3* if something is a 3*....this is not.

On the plus side, free internet is nice. Did not eat at the hotel or go to the bar so can not comment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    432
    334
    201
    230
See reviews for
305
301
94
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Do not stay here unless you are forced to like we were. I read all the bad reviews and went in with my fingers crossed. No luck. Unbelievably, there were TWO fire alarms in the night while I was there 3 nights! One at 2am, another at 11:30. Horrible experience. This is an outdated hotel in most respects. Old t.v. (but good channel selection). Old mis-matched furniture. Dirty windows, center opening window could hardly see through it was so filthy. Beds "ok". Pillows were foam (good) but ancient and of questionable cleanliness (bad). In the hallway at the entrance to our room the ceiling tiles were missing. Paint peeling. Carpet (if you could call it carpet) in room was so disgusting I told my 14 yr old to make sure his feet never touched the floor! My usually unfazed teenager complied. Breakfast expensive. You have to pay $10 for parking! Only two guest computers. Printers for these on the blink. I'm sure there is more, but I'm tired of typing, you get the idea.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whotnaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buffalo hotels

Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hotel was quite nice , not as spacious as I would have thought ...... bathroom really tiny. The breakfast that was included in the cost of the stay was terrific, and the servary staff very friendly. There were two nights of having to be evacuated... because of a fire alarm at 2 am and next night at midnight ..... we were told it was a false alwarm , thank heavens for that .... and it was due to "kids" pulling the alarm. This hotel housed parents and their children for the weekend hockey tournament . Next time I will be asking if there are any tournaments going on in a hotel before I book my stay . I believe that someone should be accountable for the interrupted stay.... the parents of whoever pulled the alarm...like pay a fine or that the hockey association pay a fine for unattended children .... or that the guests who were inconvenienced get a free night stay . Anyways .... it was not pleasant and I am glad there was no fire !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_libertygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We received this as a unrevealed hotel deal on one of the travel sites and it was a great deal, especially for such a last minute stay. I was relieved to see that it was half decent for ratings and the pictures looked okay, including the bedding, which is a big deal for me. I was glad to see that it was a white duvet rather than those flannel sheets with a thick vinyl top sheet. Check-in was great and the staff were helpful, lobby appeared nice as did the main entrance. However, once we were on our way to our room, everything sort of went downhlll. The elevator was very old and smelled like sulphur (rotten eggs) and very gloomy. The hallways were also the same way, very dim and rough looking. Another annoying thing was that a hockey club or something was there and the kids were obnoxiously running around everywhere and making a lot of noise. Once we came into the room, we thought it was an improvement from the hallway. However, nothing seemed very clean at all and the bathroom wallpaper was all peeling and the ceiling looked cracked and rough. Mirrored closet doors were dirty and streaky, scratched. Nothing seemed to be very well maintained at all. Water smelled funny. There was hair in the bathtub and there was a bar of soap opened and placed on the shower rack (seemingly used), along with a brand new bar next to the tub side.

The one night we stayed there, we really had a hard time getting a good night's rest. First of all, the bed seemed comfortable but really was not. Both my husband and I tossed and turned most of the night. We constantly felt itchy like there were possibly bed bugs. When we finally fell asleep, we were woken up by the emergency alarm at 2:00 a.m. (not the hotel's fault but regardless). Very creepy sounding automated annoucement and everything overall just left me with goosebumps and a bad taste. We finally evacuated with the rest of the guests, which took awhile, as there are many floors. Finally, after it was all over, we went back and tried to get back to bed. Guests kept slamming doors, which was not very considerate. I just couldn't wait for morning to come. I just wanted to get the heck out of there as soon as possible. Ugh! Don't think I could do it again! Felt so gross the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan_12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is my second stay here and my second review. I would still recommend this hotel for the downtown Buffalo traveller. And for what I paid.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazytraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

peeling wallpaper, filthy windows, no liners in trash cans, oldest showerhead in world. broken business center PCs. Parking $10 a day, no breakfast, dining room EMPTY,
Main door broken, neihgbohood dangerous, hookers, druggies at night
no vent in bathroom. no bellman, etc etc etc

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I have to agree with many other negative reviews. This hotel may have been worth 3 stars at one time (decades ago) and you can still see the faded elegance if you look hard, but it hasn't been 3 stars in awhile. We got this hotel after booking on Priceline (name your own price) and while we didn't spend a lot, I still feel gypped. Out of the four elevators, 3 were on the fritz, ensuring a 20 minute wait to get to our room on the 9th floor. Our room was 941, handicapped accessible and a king bed, but dirty, worn, and the computer cable was broken. Our rooms faced the highway and it was like there were no windows, just open air - it was SO LOUD all night long. There was broken glass behind the toilet, and the carpet was in dire need of a shampooing. I honestly, didn't even want to touch the blankets, it was that bad.

However, I will say, the service was nice. We got the room on Priceline, as stated previously, and when we arrived I asked if there were any king bed rooms available. They were gracious in finding one for us.

Should be rated 2 stars, max.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Mark Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Buffalo

Property: Adam's Mark Buffalo
Address: 120 Church St, Buffalo, NY 14202-3911
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Business Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adam's Mark Buffalo 3*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam’s Mark Hotel in Buffalo NY provides more of the comfort, amenities and entertainment choices you desire. This remarkable Buffalo hotel has 486 deluxe guest rooms, including a variety of suites. It offers an extensive list of amenities and services that ensure every guest will experience absolute comfort and pleasure. In the final stages of guestroom renovations we are excited to offer Executive King and Double Rooms featuring refrigerators and microwaves in each of these rooms. Come see our renovations we are excited to start the next phases of the renovations including corridors, lobby, Deco Restaurant and Tiffany Rose Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Adam's Mark Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam`s Mark Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Adams Mark Buffalo
Adamsmark Buffalo
Buffalo Adams Mark
Buffalo Adamsmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing