We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 4:30, and was given keys for both rooms I booked. We found none of the rooms were cleaned when we got to the 4th floor. The maid who was cleaning the room next door told us to go back to the lobby because she didn't know we were coming in, and our new rooms would definitely be on a different floor. So we all went down, with all our children and luggage, and was told that there was only one room ready at that time if we wanted to stay on the same floor. So we went to the clean room, still on the 4th floor, and they called the room in about 30min telling me to go down the lobby for the key of the other room. We understand that these things happen, and we were not in a hurry for anything so that was not a problem for us to wait and go between our room and lobby for several times. What we were unhappy with was that nobody from the hotel said "sorry", not even for ONCE. Won't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    106
    43
    13
    20
See reviews for
96
72
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My partner and I spent 5 days in Buffalo on an architectural/winery tour. Both of us were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality at this wonderfully located hotel. It's near the eclectic Allentown and Elmwood Village neighborhoods, as well as being within walking distance to downtown. Many nice restaurants are within walking distance, too. The beautiful Delaware Park area is only a 10 minute ride away.

The staff was extremely helpful in suggesting where to go, eat, etc. The breakfasts were typical hotel fare--which was fine with us (especially since they were included with the room). The rooms themselves were clean, quiet, comfortable.

If you're going to Buffalo to spend some time in the city itself, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hi all, spent a night whilst traveling on to Mount Rushmore, room offered was great and using a voucher from the HOTEL VOUCHER BOOK not expected as we usualy get the back box room.

Voucher inc an American Hot Breakfast, which turned out to be one of those con's that gives you one free item with coffee or tea, come on, how does that work as a breakfast, so if you take the cereal option, then that's it!?! zappo, nil, nothing else, or you can order two hot items - who eats a cooked breakfast with 2 items!

But on a slight plus side the coupon would give you 25% off a Breakfast Menu - Oh what a con! - this only helps to drag down what otherwise be a good quality Motel.

Reception Staff - realy good, room was realy good, no bad smells, no bathroom marks and the Tv was to die for, every station that exists, ok I exagerate, but it was great.

?Would I stay again, yes, but not for the breakfast.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: use a room voucher code and save bucks, on line this room will cost you about 15 to 20% more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_spence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just got back from spending the day to visit the Darwin Martin House in the Parkside ,as well as see his Blue Sky Mauseleum in Forestlawn Cemetary neighbourhood (8 minutes away by car). We stayed at the Best Western on the Avenue because it was central to the places we wanted to visit. AllenTown and the Elmwood Village were a short walk from the hotel, as well as the downtown. We would suggest not walking downtown on Sunday afternoons at this time of year because most businesses seemed to be closed. The hotel was booked solid due to a busload of tourists but our room was quiet and we weren't kept up by the slamming of doors. Our room was clean and updated and the staff at the desk and in the breakfast room were extremely helpful, gracious and professional. This was our second stay here and we'll definitely go back again. 2 Canadians

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Best Western on the Avenue, April 13, 2012. We were in town for a concert..... the hotel was reasonably located to the downtown area near the Arena.

We couldve easily walked to the show at the Arena, but chose to take a taxi for time reasons. The front desk was very good to get us a taxi ASAP.

The hotel in general is in good repair. The rooms were really nicely appointed, and were very quiet, although it appeared the hotel was quite full. We've stayed in some hotels where you hear everything going on outside room, whereas this hotel had great soundproofing (at least it appeared to us to be).

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was quite good as well. Lots of choices etc., If i'd make one suggestion, it would be to improve the strength of the coffee, but otherwise it was all good.

We discovered as we were to leave, that our HWY was shutdown for construction. Dawn, one the hotels employees took the time to jot down an alternative route back to Niagara Falls, NY.

All in all, a good choice if you're visiting that area of BUffalo.

Room Tip: IF you like stronger coffee, there is a Starbucks just down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here in December and have been meaning to write about it ever since. The staff was so kind to us, the rooms immaculate, and we awoke Christmas morning to a lovely complimentary breakfast in the hotel. Throughout our comings and goings, the front desk people served us well. We will definitely be back ! Such a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: so quiet on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel was awful! We booked it last minute when most of the other hotels in the area were sold out. I would recommend avoiding it and staying in another area if this is the only downtown hotel with availability.

From the outside the hotel appears to be relatively modern but the lobby, hallways, breakfast area and the rooms are very outdated and dirty. Room 204 in particular should be avoided; it is located directly outside the elevator and ice machine. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every conversation in the hallway clearly. You can also hear the automated voice in the elevator say “second floor’ every single time the door opens. Additionally, the entire room was grimy, had mismatched furniture, dirty carpet and a filthy armchair.

The ‘continental breakfast’ was truly awful. The dimly lit banquet room was dirty and breakfast mostly consisted of cereal, old fruit and pop tarts.

The parking arrangement is also strange. There are a very limited number of spots directly outside the hotel requiring us to walk to a neighbouring parking lot. Not ideal when carrying luggage in the snow.

This is one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in. Again, I recommend avoiding it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#9 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue

Property: BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing