We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Sophia's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 1,051 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always good Breakfast, Homemade bread is the best, Cheap Eats,arrive early 7am as rest fills up quickly on weekends, have eaten there for 20yrs, old school decour, lunch is also served, and soon dinner and drinks will be available, never had a bad Breakfast, steady flow of customers on weekdays also. Soph's son now runs the place, but Sophia is always there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I found out about Sophia’s Restaurant on Diners, Drive ins, and Dives. They were advertised as a breakfast place so while in Buffalo we stopped in.

It’s a medium sized place and seemed very busy. We took a seat at the counter instead of waiting for a table to become available. We placed our order, I ordered the Giambotta, and watched the wait staff work their magic. It is quite an energetic restaurant, with people working hard to please their customers.

When we got our food, which was soon after we ordered we chowed down and swapped plates to try everything we ordered. The two dishes that stood out to me were the Giambotta and the pancakes. Both were awesome and I would be sure to order them again when I return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cglof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

To my good fortune we were In the area at the right time to go to Sophia's. The place was packed which is always a good sign for a restaurant. This was my second visit to this restaurant and I've loved it both times. Cooking at best with huge portions. Price is excellent. Love house made bread.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leadpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is well worth the wait.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant twice and I've loved it both times. Sophia was our waitress on the last visit and she is such a nice lady. Be prepared for a bit of a wait, but the food is well worth the wait!

Helpful?
Thank mbg416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You are now entering Flavor Country!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Decided to hit this place up for a late breakfast/lunch after attempting to get parking at Pano's proved almost impossible. Glad I went to this place instead! We found parking really easily at Sophia's and had a short wait to get a table. Once seated Sophia (the owner) actually waited on us and was really nice and quick with getting us set up with some coffee & Mimosa's. Both of which were great! For food I ordered was the ham off the bone, eggs, hash browns, homemade toast with a side of short stack pancakes. The ham was the real deal and pancakes were light and fluffy. My gf had the french toast made with the homemade bread and she absolutely loved them! In fact everything we ordered was really good. The bill for two of us with drinks was really reasonable and Sophia even offered us some free rice pudding which unfortunately we had to decline because we were already so full. This is def my 'go to' breakfast/lunch place in future. Check it out and I'm sure you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timothy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing