We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Breakfast”

Sophia's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 1,037 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smashing Breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast on a cross border shopping trip after finding Sophia's on the DDD show. We arrived at about 8:00 and were seated straight away although the place was busy. Quickly served by a very pleasant waitress, who refilled coffee twice, before we had run dry.We shared 2 standard breakfasts, one with sausage and one with bacon along with sides of Canadian bacon and home made French toast. It was all delicious, the bacon had more taste than others we try regularly and the sausage was great. The real star of the show is the home fries - cooked on a flat grill and tasting of the bacon fat they are cooked in. French toast was lovely, although maple syrup would have made it better. Nice buzz and there wasa queue when we left. We'll go again next time we are in the states for sure. Not for anyone on a diet, but if you like a tasty and filling unpretentious breakfast, at an incredible price, this is the place for you

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover
Level Contributor
182 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So Sweet and Huge!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hit this spot just after noon on a Sunday. There was a wait but they got us seated at the bar where we had a fun view of the cooks working the grill. Wait staff was fantastic - they socialized with us even though they were busy and really tried to make us feel welcome.
The pancakes were delicious and I don't generally like pancakes. We split an order of the apple, cinammon walnut short stack and were pretty much full from that. I also got a giombatta which I ended up taking most of home. The homemade bread is wonderful, and Sophia was such a sweetheart; when I was packing up my giombatta, she tucked another couple of slices of the homemade bread in.
Will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Small place, long wait, good food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went there on a sunday morning. "Sophia" was our server and service was not great after a long wait. We felt like they forgot our order but the homemade bread used for the French toast was good. Bring a jacket if it is winter. Place is cold, but has good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFG0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great dining experience in Buffalo, NY”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Whenever the Mrs. and I are looking for a great place to eat, Sophia's is our first choice. For either breakfast or lunch, their food is always of top quality and quantity for that matter. Sunday we went there for breakfast/lunch. The wife had the two eggs, home fries, bacon, and two pancakes. The eggs over easy were done right. The potatoes were crispy and hot as was the bacon. The pancakes, light and fluffy. I had the bacon supreme burger with my choice of potato, the well done home fries. The burger was perfect, the bacon crispy, the lettuce green and fresh as was the onion. The roll was also very fresh. An excellent choice if I do say so myself.
On other visits, the wife and her sisters have raved about the fish fry that comes with fries and slaw. The fish is haddock and when visiting Buffalo, besides chicken wings, a fish fry is a must.
Sophia's is very clean and friendly. The wait staff is fast and efficient. They take cash as well as the card and are only open till 3pm. Be prepared, there may be a small wait as the place is always busy. Overall, no matter what your choice off their vast menu is, you can't go wrong. By the way, ask for the homemade bread with your breakfast. It's a little bit more, but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and awesome prices. The chocolate chip pancakes were huge and only cost 3.75. They have build your own omlets with alot of choices to add. Will definetly be making a lot of return visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lppenny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing