We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with a 5 star host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
Ranked #3 of 4 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a rare find! We will be staying at this first class inn whenever we are in Buffalo. The House is so conveniently located, just steps to the heart of Elmwood village shoppes and restaurants. Inside the inn you will find a "sanctuary in the city". A comfy, casual atmosphere dotted thoughtfully with art from local artist as well as around the world.
Our room, a two room suite on the second floor was clean warm and very comfortable. The bed and linens were of high quality and we slept soundly. The Bathroom was unique experience in itself with its European "wet room" design style. Ample luxury towels and amenities. There is also a closet full of supplies if you forgot something from home. The kitchenette across the hall from our room was also an added bonus. There we found a microwave, fridge, sink, wineglasses etc. Karen the owner/host is the jewel in this wonderfully cozy inn. She will cheerfully go the extra mile to ensure her guests best experiences. From the yummy home baked muffins to her searching and calling in our last minute reservations she goes the extra mile.
I only wish there was an Elmwood Village inn where ever we traveled. All previous glowing reviews of this gem of a stay are true. If you are looking for Comfort, luxury, ambiance, value and a terrific host. You have found it with The Elmwood Inn Honu House. <3

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimTerry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 116 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Inn on Sunday February 16th for one night as we were in Buffalo to enjoy one of its music venues. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the house and how well it was decorated. All was perfect. The Inn has a warm and comfortable feel to it from the moment you see it from the curb and grows as you enter each room inside. We could not have felt more comfortable. Before heading out for the evening we decided to call a cab rather than drive to the show as we wanted to enjoy a few cocktails before and after. The fine proprietor Karen called for a cab as she had all of the cab company phone numbers at her desk. When the first company said it would be about a half hour, she tried another. When they too said the same, she tried a another. The third cab call was the one she secured as the wait was 15 minutes. She waited with us, conversing in the lobby until the cab arrived. Her focus was to make sure we were on our way in the cab in a timely manner. What customer service! The location is excellent and in an artsy area with nice shops and eateries. We plan to stay at the Inn for any activity that we attend in Buffalo. Thank you Karen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forfunandrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My brother and I have stayed here twice, both times with the craft beer scene in mind. It's within walking distance of the Village Beer Merchant, Cole's and The Blue Monk, as well as many other restaurants.

Both the Middle Eastern Room and the Honu House are very well arranged, decorative and practical. The Honu House room has one of the most comfortable beds that I've ever slept in, and has a separate room with a tv, chairs, spa bath and a desk.

Karen is very friendly and most accommodating, clearly out to ensure that your stay is exactly what you want. She offers tips on places to go, times to go, and other pieces of information about the area.

The Inn is quiet and provides a warm feel while also offering the convenience of a hotel with toiletries, a small kitchen that includes teas and other items that you would find in your own home (and a fridge to keep your craft beer cold).

We'll be staying here for a third time at some point this year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for a business trip and found the place lovely. Obviously if you use services like gym facility and concierge you should stay in a hotel, but I think this bed and breakfast has the added value of providing more "personal service". The host was present in the morning for breakfast and would chat with us. She replied to all of our questions and was excellent in understanding when we were in hurry or when we had time to relax and talk. She also provided bottle water, which is usually not included in a hotel booking.

The room was very nice, very large bed and a Jacuzzi in front of the TV with candles (this was the master suite). It was clean (and very warm! -which is nice since it's late November) and every day there would be some touch up that made our return to the room comfortable. Obviously, being an old house, and with a lot of wood, there are some noises, both from other guests, and the walking around in your room, but we had no problem with it. Nothing major. However if you expect to sleep until 10 am that may be a problem as you may hear the ppl having breakfast and chatting downstairs. It depends on who are the other guests at the moment.

The location was also excellent, right in the center of the city.

I read some comments here on Tripadvisor about the breakfast from previous guests. Although it is true that there were no eggs, freshly baked cakes were provided every day, together with juice, coffee, and fruit. I personally loved it, but I don't particularly fancy eggs. The amount of food was more than I could eat, so you won't be hungry for sure.

What makes the whole experience nice is the family atmosphere you can experience, as if you would be guested by a friend or relative. I find this applies particularly to B&B and not hotels, so I would certainly book here.

One note for internationals: if you plan to use skype the wireless connection in the room is too slow for skype-to-skype voice calling.

Room Tip: the master suite is gorgeous, but you can hear the other guests having breakfast, so chose another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here in September while in Buffalo for the first time for a wedding. Not knowing a thing about the area, it was a wonderful location that offered a real glimpse into the old Buffalo in the center of a very charming and culturally diverse area. We loved our Skylight Suite. It was spacious, private, quiet, and had it's own little kitchenette. The shower in the suite had the best shower head and water pressure of anywhere we have ever stayed! Karen, our host, was an absolute delight and quite knowledgeable and helpful on all things Buffalo and beyond. The breakfasts were delicious and she keeps a well stocked closet full of all the toiletries one may have forgotten or didn't know they needed. We hope that we have an opportunity to visit the area again someday and will definitely stay there for a repeat experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaBaWaWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Forget your stereotype of Buffalo. The whole city is moving to embrace a new culture of city life based on mixed use (combining places of work, residence and shopping), and food is one of the centerpieces of this new vision. To start your food tour of wonderful community gardens and independent restaurants and a thriving food policy council, a logical place to stay is Honu House or the Elmwood Village Inn. What surprised me about the area was that it really was village-like, a nice leafy shopping street ideal for strolling and gawking at a large number of beautiful old homes and public buildings.
One of these beautiful old homes is site of the Honu House, where a very friendly and knowledgeable woman runs a very comforting establishment. She cooks up a terrific breakfast, which will confirm to you that foodies do not have to suffer to eat fresh and nutritious fare. She will also tell you the cool places to go.
Rooms are comfy, clean and authentic. The common room is a treat to relax in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Skylight Suite. It was very spacious and had everything we could have asked for. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was handy to have the little kitchenette. Both mornings we were treated to delicious homemade baking, coffee/tea and fruit.

The location is perfect. You could walk everywhere. The Village has lots of unique shops, restaurants, and even nightclubs that are open till 4 a.m.!

Karen was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Skylight Suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTakeaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hotel Henry Urban Resort Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Foundry Suites Hotel
Foundry Suites Hotel
#18 of 25 in Buffalo
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
1.8 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House

Address: 893 Elmwood Ave, corner St. James Pl, Buffalo, NY 14222-1412
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing