We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, better service and cool amenities...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Epping, NH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, better service and cool amenities...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I love Courtyards. Why? Because no matter where I go I know what to expect when I travel when trying to keep a morning routine the same. The Bistro with its consistent food, drink and decor across the Courtyard brand makes a world of difference to get a bit more 'routine' in your morning. This location is brand new and finally Marriott has a hotel downtown. They are located between the First Niagara center (home of the Sabres) and Coca-Cola field (home of the Bisons) right on the trolley line and across the street from Buffalo Exchange AMTRAK station. More Marriott is on the way next door as a full service property with ice rinks, mall and a one of a kind Tim Horton's concept. The work being done in this area and all along the surface line of the trolly is quite a sight.

The service at the bistro in the morning was slower than it should be and missed the mark on the Bistro expectations (no butter, jam, etc with breakfast; milk/cream on opposite side from area where there were stirrers and lids. Layout created a congested line in the center through tables and the bacon was horribly overcooked).

The service at the front of the house was off the charts good from the professionalism and warm welcome of Sunnie on check-in (you can tell she takes pride in this property!) and a great talk with Chrissy (sp?) later that evening about the area revitalization project (including the Sabres and Bills - :) was a welcomed break. Overall a great property, front of house service and a sure fire hit for a night in Buffalo. Happy travels...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfalkingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Good morning, Jfalkingham, and thank you for taking time out of your day to write a detailed review of our property! We are pleased that we are now a fixture in the downtown Buffalo area. We understand that those who travel for work value consistency and the great service and amenities they have come to expect in the Marriott brand. Sunnie is an invaluable member of our team. We will certainly forward your compliments to her. We are disappointed to see that the service and condiments at our Bistro were less than what you expected. It is our goal that every guest is completely happy with all aspects of the property and I invite you to reach out directly to me if the your needs are not corrected during your time at the Bistro. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    79
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
61
90
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed for one night this past weekend, we were touring the Frank Lloyd Wright Martin Complex and East Aurora. I've stayed in a lot of Courtyard Marriotts ( 3 others this year) and this was by far the best. Great pool, new decor concept, neat pillow headboards with covers that can be changed and washed. Huge room and huge walk in shower. They also have handy electrical usb jacks which came in handy when I forgot my iphone charger and only had a cord. Well locate next to Buffalo sports arenas, we had a surprise firework display outside out hotel that night! I used to think the only option was to stay in the outskirts of Buffalo but I'd rather stay here now that I have discovered it. Travelling with mother in seventies who has difficulty sleeping in hotels and she says it was the best bed and nicest hotel she has stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilyTO w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good afternoon, lilyTO w, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. When designing this hotel, we were sure to put guests needs first. Handy USB ports and charging outlets in convenient locations, and bolster pillows are just some of the design concepts that Courtyard by Marriott has implemented to benefit our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a small meeting of representatives of a number of cancer centers, our hosts at Roswell Park chose the new Courtyard Canalside. The lobby is modern, the rooms ultra-modern and spacious. Bathroom appointments are luxurious, including a large walk-in rain head shower. My king room had a terrific couch with a swinging table, for light work or relaxing. Views of the developing Canalside area are good--they will be better as the redevelopment progresses. The small bistro is right in the lobby. Staff members are courteous and friendly. The developers did not skimp anywhere--not even the fitness and pool area in the lower lobby. I cannot think of a reason not to return on a subsequent trip to Buffalo.

Room Tip: I was on a low floor. A view of the water would be best--I had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you, DrBob78, for your review of our hotel! We have received great feedback thus far regarding our design concept, as well as many of the amenities we offer guests. Guests have particularly noted that they love the large bathrooms, complete with rain showerhead and towel nook. The fitness and pool area provide a relaxing respite from the busy work week. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I live in the Buffalo area but decided to stay downtown at the first Marriott hotel to open downtown while attending a concert. I am a Marriott Platinum member and travel a lot for work. Although I always stay at Marriott hotels but I usually avoid the Courtyard chain as they are my least favorite of the Marriott family. However, this hotel is much different than any Courtyard that I have ever stayed at. It is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are oversized and it is in a perfect location if you are have a need to stay downtown. The new and expanding Canalside is great with a beautiful park area, great views and nice restaurants.

When you walk into the hotel you immediately know this is something different. It is nicer than most of the regular Marriott's. Large hallways leading up to your room. Oversized bathroom with huge walk in shower. Included in the room is a microwave, refrigerator and coffee machine. There is a nice sized TV on the wall and as always, the Marriott bed is super comfy.

The room is nicely organized and decorated. I really loved the room and hotel. We are already making plans to stay again just to have a nice weekend away from home on the waterfront, If you are attending a concert or game at the First Niagara Arena, you can't get any closer and this hotel is perfect. $12 valet parking and walk across the street.

The whole hotel is new, clean and very inviting. They have an awesome firepit outside with lounge chairs to just sit and admire the hotel and area. This hotel really is well designed and just beautiful.

I have to take off one star because like all Courtyards, they do not offer anything for Platinum members. No free breakfast and your Platinum arrival gift is a small coffee (one per stay) which is ridiculous and the reason I avoid Courtyards. This hotel may be the one exception!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good Evening mbateacher, Wow! Thank you so much for your review. Coming from a frequent traveler, we are so happy to be named the best Courtyard you have been to! That’s such a wonderful compliment. When selecting the design for our hotel, we were sure to keep the guest in mind with larger hallways and rooms, and a different décor than you may have experienced at other Courtyard and Marriott properties. I will be sure to send your feedback regarding rewards at Courtyards to Marriott’s corporate offices. We very much value you as a Platinum member. Thank you so much for your business. We look forward to your next stay-cation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived at this hotel with valet parking and were amazed at the architecture and the interior design. A well-thought-out floor plan with very large rooms. Our family has traveled a lot and these rooms were some of the biggest we've ever stayed in. Very spacious, very clean and pleasing to the eye. The choice of interior design and color schemes brought the space to life. The staff were very helpful in all aspects of our arrival, our room, our parking and our getting around the area. Located directly on the old canal area and the Buffalo and Erie County Naval & Military Park was visible from our room. There is a restaurant on site that we did not use but we did use the Pantry which is open 24 hours a day with convenience items for purchase. A full pool and hot tub area complete with lifts for those with disabilities is located on the lower level as well as a laundry and a 24 hour fitness center. The pool area has a light show that makes the imaginations of young and old enjoy that area even more. We highly recommend this hotel and will be returning to this area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PwrBrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good afternoon PwBrkr, and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very proud to be a part of Canalside at such an exciting time for the city. We are also happy that you enjoyed the floor plan, large and clean rooms, and the atmosphere. There were many decisions regarding the construction of this hotel, and we’ve been getting terrific feedback about our choices from guests like you! This hotel was designed with the traveler in mind, whether she be on a solo business trip or vacationing with children. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel while in Buffalo for business. The property had only been open for a few days. Everything was gorgeous, modern, spacious, and luxurious. Our room had a king bed, large sofa, work station, and a very nice LG flat screen mounted on the wall. The staff was extremely attentive and knowledgeable. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant, The Bistro, which had reasonable prices with excellent food. As with all Courtyard's, breakfast was not included, but the Bistro was open for business.

Valet parking was $12 a day and the attendant was very polite and prompt.

The only complaint would be that the coffee maker in our room had not been cleaned. There were molding grounds inside, so we decided to skip coffee that morning. I was a little surprised complimentary coffee wasn't offered in the lobby.

Overall, this was a gorgeous, upscale hotel that we would be delighted to stay in again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
AndeeDawn,
Thank you, for your review of our hotel. You point out some great features that are unique to our property: valet parking, Bistro service, modern and beautiful rooms, and our LG wall-mounted televisions. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. I would like to apologize for ground remnant in your room coffee maker. We have discussed this with our team to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We would like to thank you for your five star review, your great feedback, and your visit. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Saturday night was my first night in Buffalo and this hotel was absolutely amazing! Between the employees there and the room accommodations I was completely impressed. They have valet parking, the girls at reception were amazing (ESPECIALLY CASEY!!). Every person we came in contact with was so helpful and kind. I've staying in a lot of hotels and resorts and this one is definitely in the top 5. The rooms were big and modern. The bathrooms were even more amazing! The location is also perfect!! If you're going out in Buffalo NY I would definitely recommend this place to everyone! Congrats on the opening of this hotel!! The hospitality was more than we expected but exactly what we needed!! Thanks to everyone at this hotel!!

Room Tip: We had 2 King Bed Deluxe Rooms. They were awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgray0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Jgray0626,
Thank you so much for the gleaming review of our hotel: the new Courtyard Canalside! Our terrific staff has gone to great lengths to ensure that each guest is taken care of. Thank you for recognizing them. Casey is our Assistant General Manager, and an invaluable asset to our hotel. As our first TripAdvisor review, we will use your review as a bar to measure up to each and every day. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Buffalo. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Property: Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Address: 125 Main Street, One Canalside, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the heart of Canalside in downtown Buffalo, NY and is only one block away from KeyBank Center. Travel around town on the Buffalo Metro Rail, which conveniently has a stop right outside of the hotel. The onsite restaurant and bar serves breakfast, Starbucks(R) coffee, dinner and evening drinks, or grab a bite to eat at the Pizza Plant, which is connected to our hotel. Guests enjoy the onsite fitness center, indoor heated pool & whirlpool, business center and boarding pass printing center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing