We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had more time!”
Review of Forest Lawn

Forest Lawn
Ranked #2 of 152 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As one of the first rural cemeteries in the United States, Forest Lawn – located in Buffalo, NY – is at the heart of Western New York’s cultural tourism renaissance. Its first interment took place in 1849; today there are more than 161,000 permanent residents in this 269-acre, non-denominational, non-sectarian, not-for-profit cemetery. Forest Lawn offers year-round guided tours on various themes and subjects, educational programming,special veteran programming and so much more. Forest Lawn is the only local full-service cemetery for traditional and cremation arrangements listed on the State and National Registries of Historic Places.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish I had more time!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only had 30 minutes for this cemetery (went to see the Blue Sky Mausoleum) and it was entirely not enough time. From the time we drove in, we were awestruck at the headstones, monuments and mausoleums. I've never seen anything like this. We only had time to see Frank Lloyd Wright's Blue Sky and Millard Fillmore's grave. I would have spent hours there had I known it was so spectacular. It is a must-see for anyone visiting this city!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tfloew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstarks, Manager at Forest Lawn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Tfloew,

We hear this all the time! Another comment is "Who knew there was so much to see?"

Come back soon to visit. We have complimentary maps in the office that point out various points of interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    76
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, serene place”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I were interested in seeing Forest Lawn so we took a tour with a knowledgeable guide and two older women who were training to be guides. It was a nice tour despite the rainy, miserable weather. At the end of the tour, though, we realized that we hadn't seen the Blocher mausoleum with its beautiful marble carvings of the Blocher family. We mentioned this to the two lovely guides-in-training and they offered to give us a more in depth tour of Forest Lawn. They drove us around and showed us everything. They even invited us over for coffee at their homes. We ended up spending the day with our two lovely ladies who lived in Buffalo. So, whenever I think about Buffalo, I immediately think about Forest Lawn and the two wonderful ladies who treated us like family members. Thank you for an unforgettable day!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariejolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Green Space!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Forest Lawn is one of the most beautiful cemeteries in the country. The architecture, the history, and the scenery combine to make it a very pleasant experience. The sheer size of the grounds offers a magnificent backdrop for walking, biking or running. We even ran into the famous deer who has taken up residence on the grounds. They offer tours, which I plan to take in the near future. Where else could you run into a former U.S. President, a great Native American diplomat, a Congresswoman, and Rick James? It is definitely a must-see when visiting Buffalo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabresfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
“Millard Fillmore Tomb”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very peaceful and nice cemetery. Lots of joggers and walkers inside enjoying these really nice and huge grounds. #13 President Millard Fillmore buried here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstarks, Manager at Forest Lawn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for those very true comments!

The President Fillmore lot is also home to his first wife Abigail, their daughter, Mary Abigail, their son Millard Powers and his second wife Caroline Carmichael. The University of Buffalo hosts an annual birthday celebration every January 7 for the President right at the burial site. Join us next year!

Cocoa and coffee in the chapel afterwards for all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Treasure”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you love beautiful architecture (Frank Lloyd Wright) and history, Forest Lawn Cemetery is a must see! You can walk through on your own or take a paid tour via trolley or walking (check out the website). Bring your camera!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing