We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fine restaurant in a good location”

Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,030 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin
Description: Bacchus wine bar and restaurant is located in the historic Calumet building in the heart of Buffalo's entertainment district. A seasonal menu highlights the best available ingredients from local and regional farms. Together with our Wine Spectator award winning wine list, this elegant yet casual restaurant has continually been ranked as one of Buffalo's best
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a fine restaurant in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The restaurant is very convenient to the downtown hotels and to the theatre district. The atmosphere is pleasant and the food exceptional. In a city with several good restaurants, this is one of the best

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    61
    20
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We started out with the potato skins, which actually were three 2" diameter potato cups with sour cream gorgonzola topping on a crispy cup of potato filling with crispy prosciutto . The fig salad was both sweet and tasty, really hit the spot.
The bread was warm and delicious, served with a mixture of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic and a hint of chili pepper heat.
Entrees were grilled veal shank, tender and pink with excellent flavor, and a salmon filet with a wonderful sauce. Perfectly tender and pink.
No room for dessert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neroct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great film night food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On a recent visit to Buffalo we were taken to Baccus by our hosts , it was my first visit to the city , one of he highlights was a film night at this great venue , the food was excellent , with professional knowledgable service .
The bonus was the open air viewing of Argo in he courtyard area as we dined .
A really great evening shared in a novel way .
The menu was full of delights and the food was well cooked and presented .
A gem

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recommended by a local hotel, near the theatre district, we dined in the outdoor terrace.

The restaurant allows you to share an entree so that you can sample several appetizers. We thoroughly enjoyed the Prince Edward Island muscles and a wonderful salad. Then we shared a salmon dish on diced sweet potatoes and chorizo. The fresh berry tart was heaven sent. They have a fine wine list and the service was top notch --- attentive without hovering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron, ohio, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Buffalo for the first time. After reviewing Trip Advisor and researching restaurant websites we had settled on dinner at Bacchus for our Saturday night. We were attracted by the menu, pictures and location 2 blocks from our hotel.

We had late reservations and were offered the choice of dining inside or out in the courtyard. Since we had a welcomed break in the heat wave we chose the courtyard. It was lovely and set off by buildings so free from traffic and street noise. The tables were beautifully set and the combination of table spacing and light background music allowed for conversation and privacy.

The wine list was extensive and impressive. There were a number of very good by the glass choices and a unique list of half bottles. We decided to have a small splurge half bottle of a more expensive wine that we loved and then followed that with a more reasonable (for our budget) full bottle. Both wines were very very good.

The entire staff was very courteous and attentive without being constantly intrusive. I was impressed when we were served some nice warm bread with a very unique presentation of olive oil with balsamic and herbrs. It was carried to our table in a tiny cruet inverted on a plate. When the cruet was lifted the liqued spilled onto the plate like a painting. Very beautiful!

Our only mild disappointment was that they ran out of the halibut special moments before my boyfriend was going to order it - but we did have a late reservation and took our time deciding so it was 8:30. He had the Filet which he liked very much. I had the tuna which was excellent and rare and served with very intresting sides. We both started with a salad. I had the berry salad which came with a nice light and tart vinagette and fresh blueberries and red and black raspberries and candied pecans. My boyfriend had the BLT salad which he enjoyed.

All and all and excellent dinner and experience. I would love to return again - at least for some wine - when we are next in Buffalo. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clr44313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing