We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK...not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijou Grille

Bijou Grille
Ranked #171 of 1,030 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK...not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant prior to a performance at Shea's. We had been here before and the food was very good...Tonight not so much. We ordered appetizers first. I ordered a "Mexican trio dip". Flavors were average, (cheese dip very thin, guacamole frozen product). Before I was even 1/4 of the way through the appetizer our entrees were placed at the table. My lemon and asparagus shrimp over spinach fettucini had 5 lovely large prawns, but for some unknown reason there were cooked green beans thrown over the top...ruining the delicate flavors of the lemon, caper and asparagus. Also it was poorly seasoned, needing both salt and pepper. Service was poor-fair. The very busy server never asked us about the quality of the food, and after rushing to serve us left us almost 30 minutes after we were finished for our check.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbostons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend and I were attending a performance at Shea's and needed to find a restaurant in close proximity to the theater. We parked in the M&T lot on Washington St and walked through the arcade, which is right next door to the restaurant. Because my friend has mobility issues, this was a great choice. The food is reasonably priced and the service is very friendly and fast. When I made my reservation the hostess asked if I was attending the theater and assured me that there would be ample time, and there was. Never did I feel rushed, even though the restaurant was full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larn796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great restaurant in downtown Buffalo theater district. Salad was perfect and enough for two, Filet was excellent and the Salmon I had was great. Great wine selection and ambiance. Service was impressive but not intrusive and the overall atmosphere was cozy. Catering to the theatre goers and cast members the staff is very aware of curtain times and service is very timely.

tim

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent food; Great location for theater goers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A group of us usually meet at The Bijou before the theater and have been doing so for a couple of years. The food is consistently good, the service friendly and efficient. Even when it's very busy, the staff is well aware of curtain time so being on time for the theater is never a problem. The menu is varied and the prices are reasonable. Since it is located mere steps from Shea's, I'm sure the management could get away with higher prices based on location. But to their credit, the prices are kept at a reasonable level. My particular menu favorite is the smoked turkey sandwich served with delicious sweet potato chips. The lava chocolate cake is divine and enough for two.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reader2WesternNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We reccomend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this establishment to have a wonderful atmosphere and excellent menu. Very impressed with the food and service was impecable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tymetraveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou Grille also viewed

 
 

Been to Bijou Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing