We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, great prices”

Washington Square Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 1,037 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good food, great prices”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There is a wide selection of menu items to suit any taste. I have never had a bad meal here. very comfortable atmosphere, and the prices are very reasonable, including for drinks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wings!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went to Washington Square before a Bisons game. We had the wings and some other apps.
The wings were fantastic, some of the best I've had.
The service is great. They treat you like you're a regular!
Anytime I go to Sabres or Bisons game, I'm going to eat there before.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Azlan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Where are the michelin stars?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been going to Washington Square for a numbers of years now and by far their chicken wings are the best and done the way we like them. In fact they still are the best. But were we surprised when at our recent visit there our bill had a gratuity added in- something that never happened before. Usually at casual places like this tavern a gratuity is never added in but left to the discretion of the customer. All of which prompts me to ask where are the michelin stars because I would expect a service or gratuity charge added in at those places but not at Washington Square.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took the family to Washington Square before a Sabres game this week. Suggest you call ahead and make a reservation - especially if there is a sporting event or concert on that night. It is a small restaurant that looks as if it has been around for over 70 years - without having been renovated once. Go for the good local food - beef on weck and wings for the most part, although my wife's bbq chicken sandwich might have been the best thing on the menu - and to mingle with the locals. Would give this place 5 stars if they had not filled every space with a table and chair - you can barely move (and the wait staff can barely get around). Still good fun and worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Eating here the last 20 years always had a good meal - especially love the italian baked fish and Roast Beef on weck. Great little place, the crowd should give you a hint that the food is good..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregc1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Square Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Washington Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing