We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch”
Review of Blue Monk - CLOSED

Blue Monk
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Brunch was delicious. Lot's of great options. Bloody Mary's are incredible. Atmosphere is excellent. Will be back soon!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    55
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Cheerful Buffalo Pub”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice friendly pub on Elmwood amongst a street load of competition. The pub food here was outstanding. Enjoyed a Blue Monk Burger (8 oz) with some unique specialty beers. The beer menu is very nice. A lot of unique brews offered here. Worth the visit to sample the suds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenKinSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great pub in Elmwood Village”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great pub atmosphere with lots of draught beers to choose from. We had the flight of five 5 oz. Belgian beers; one of several themed flights available. And the flights are different every day.

The beer selection is wide and diverse.

It is loctated in an older building - lots of wood and windows. Great atmosphere.

Located in Elwood Village, several blocks of restaurants and boutique shops. Stop for a drink as you stroll the avenue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans ny
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful bartendeder on 2/24/13 around 4:30 pm just awful”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am sad to write this review however, it needs to be expressed. The bar is awesome and the food is great and I loved, loved, loved it until yesterday 2/24/13 when the bartender was a rude and condensending example of a man. Clearly, he only wanted to wait on his buddies at the bar and he should be removed from his position. We asked him to change the TV channel and in a small manner he rudely declined and basically asked us to take our business else where. Lying saying and I quote his "TV is only able to play football, hockey, and basketball".So we left took our business down the road and I will be sure to tell every friend, family member, and stranger not to go here until he is removed. He is awful... Please do not go and waste your time and money on him.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great beer selections”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Amazing mac and cheese. Impressive beer selections-staff is pretty knowledgeable so don't hesitate to ask questions. Great comfort food!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Racheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Monk also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing