We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Bar

Anchor Bar
Ranked #7 of 1,030 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Visiting ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I had utopia stop by it was first on out list awesome wings the sauce was a bit different but the waitress we had was very friendly and fast. Looking forward to my next buffalo trip

Helpful?
Thank prtazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    811
    423
    143
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not just wings and beeer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

You may be surprised that this is a great family style Italian restaurant. But, is the real original buffalo wing place. By far, if you want to ruin your wing eating experience for anywhere else you'll ever go. Your ready to try these wings. Ruined it for me... I'll never find better wings anywhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, uk
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“you want wings, they got wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

live music , home of the buffalo wing, fair pizza,, terrible beer, great atmosphere,, any visitor to buffalo has to check it out at least once,,, crowded, noisy, over priced, but historic,, one of the few real tourist traps in buffalo but overall a worthwhile experience,,,,lots of good italin choices if not a wing or pizza lover.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrydeluxe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anchor Bar wings!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are in Buffalo, you must at least try the original Buffalo wings. We've been to Anchor Bar many a time. We first came for wings when we lived in Buffalo in the early 80s. When our son moved to Buffalo, we went several times when we visited him, Now, he is moving again, so who knows when I will be back. We visited one more time on Friday night at about 7. We were seated quickly and service was efficient and friendly. We've tried Duff's which is the rival wing in town, but I prefer Anchor Bar's. Maybe you'll want to do a taste test yourself!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarryLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Wings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

stopped by this famous wing place after crossing the border, great atmosphere, lots of history, great for motorcycle buffs-their hanging on the walls literally. Cozy bar lots of food, great menu. Friendly service a locals hangout for sure. Now almost $13 for a lb of wings was a bit much but they were good. lots of parking. Italian style menu available too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing