We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's the Dirty Truth...”
Review of Anchor Bar

Anchor Bar
Ranked #9 of 1,034 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Here's the Dirty Truth...”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is fun and interesting for a bar crowd and a sort of 'must see' for those visiting Buffalo. BUT...they do not have the best wings in town. I'd say Gabriel's Gate does!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buffaloplaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    822
    429
    145
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“must have antipasto salad, always yummy wings”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The antipasto salad is so big that if you have less than 4 people order just the small antipasto will do assuming you are having wings too. Wings are always delicious. But I wonder when they stopped giving you carrots sticks. There is only celery that comes with the wings, no carrots sticks. A bit disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hwzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best buffalo wings”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The original can't go wrong. I had buffalo wings on 4 other occasions during my trip and this one was simply the best. Go for medium "hotness" and above.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonWongSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The One and Only Place for Wings”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Anchor Bar is truly unique. Although many restaurants in Upstate New York (and all over the world) now offer Buffalo chicken wings, the Anchor Bar was the first, and it's still the best. Although it's called Anchor "Bar," it's really an Italian restaurant. Fine for kids and families. Unless you're a vegetarian, you really should order the wings. However, there's a full Italian menu if that's what you prefer. (I don't know if the Italian food is good. I always order wings!)

The service is friendly, the decor is appropriate for the cuisine, and prices are reasonable. If you visit Buffalo, and don't have wings at the Anchor Bar, you will have deprived yourself of a great--and really unique--food experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthplace of the Buffalo Wing”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I only live 25 minutes away from the Anchor Bar and everytime I venture out to Buffalo I cant help but think I need to stop at Anchor Bar.I went to the Anchor bar for my 21st birthday dinner.Ive been coming for years though so this isnt my first time.They are the birthplace of the famous Buffalo Wings and I love their wings.The prices are a little high but ever since they became famous on the travel channel they have seen a huge increase in business.The only complaint I have about the anchor bar is how busy it can be and good luck finding a parking space.Other than that the food is great.So if your in Western New York or plan on visiting sometime definitively make sure you make it a priority to stop here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing