We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hutch's

Hutch's
Ranked #7 of 1,034 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Delavan Avenue
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to Hutch's for the dinner the night after Valentine's Day. It felt warm and cozy the moment stepping in. The hostess was friendly and sat us right away. Atmosphere was great. Love the exposed brick and the intimate lighting. Very relaxing. Food was exceptional. Chicken Milanese is a great dish if you are not a steak and
Seafood fan. Overall amazing experience. Will definitely be back for more!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    58
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best choice for seafood”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We were there in a part of 15 people.
Nice service, great apettizers, great wine list.
Desert was really good and seafood is special.
If you are in Buffalo, this is a great spot

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday dinner”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

How have we lived so close to this outstanding restaurant for so long and never gone there before?! We went for a special birthday dinner. Hutch's is in what looks to be an old converted town house ... small, intimate rooms, brick walls, unprepossessing entrance. The bar is nicely appointed, the bartender very professional and the selection of single malt Scotch whiskeys one of the best I've seen anywhere. The service was understated and unobtrusive; the waiter almost seemed rushed on what was a very quiet evening in the restaurant (a Monday). In his defense, he was also responsible for a trainee who followed him everywhere. The food at Hutch's is excellent starting with the lobster and shrimp bisque. I contains generous chunks of lobster meat and a little hint of cayenne in the background for just the right 'kick'. My grilled prawns on house-made linguini with olive oil and garlic and my wife's halibut with 'beurre blanc' (one of last evening's specials) were both cooked to perfection. Hutch's wine cellar is extensive and nicely balanced, if a little pricey, but who's isn't? We found a French Pouilly-Fuissé, a bit of a shot-in-the-dark, especially at $45, that was the perfect accompaniment. The dessert menu has something for everyone, from simple sorbets to my wife's coconut gelato with an espresso sauce and snickerdoodles ... very creative. Hutch's wait staff (including busboys) score extra points for not using two common turns-of-phrase that drive me nuts in a restaurant. Many thanks for not referring to my wife and me as "guys" or, worse, "you guys", and especially for not asking: "Are you still working on that?" as a way of asking if I was finished and ready to have my plate cleared. Instead, I appreciated hearing: "Are you still enjoying your meal?" Drinks through espresso and tip, around $200 for two.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with family”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

As we pulled up to the restaurant I was a bit worried, but knew Tripadvisor has yet to disappoint me. As we walked it, I knew this would be a great night. The atmosphere was quaint, brick walls, small rooms. It's not a huge place so you probably don't want to go without a reservation.
The staff was wonderful. Food was top notch. Plenty of choices and specials to please the entire group. We will surely be back next time we come to town to visit my son and his wife.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daja607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went to Hutch's for a special birthday. Hostess service, bar service, and wait service were all impeccable, as usual. Dinner was delicious and well worth the snow storm we drove through to get there. Companion's rib eye was cooked perfectly and well~enjoyed. My filet was very good. Great dining experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutch's also viewed

 

Been to Hutch's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing