We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging in there. Excellent food, but a worn atmosphere.”
Review of Hutch's

Hutch's
Ranked #9 of 1,052 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Delavan Avenue
Barrow, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hanging in there. Excellent food, but a worn atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Host was a bit too casual for the experience they are offering as he was "ok, sure..whatever". Aside from that the waiter was excellent with his knowledge. He was well timed with food, however he seemed to be one step behind with checking on us. Food was excellent as usual. Bisque, oysters, steak and scallops were superb! We've been here many times and the food is always the best. The atmosphere is beginning to look a bit boring and a change would make this place feel better and more trendy. However, it is still on our list of must go restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    59
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alway delicious”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hutches been there for years and always best food verities with great service, warm comfortable setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“For the price, it matches expectations”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hutch's lives up to its history of 18 years. It offers elegant or informal dining in a restaurant with a brick walled pub in rear and formal, somewhat French -looking formal restaurant in front. The menu pricing includes highly price (and gorgeous looking) meat dishes and small offerings which span the gamut. Our eggplant-tomato appetizer was elegant and tasty, beet salad met expectations and wines (by the glass) well selected. My only complaint is that my Gumbo came with pasta and would have been far better with rice. The sauce was (as expected) fine and a bit strong to compensate for less liquid and chunky pasta. The service was invisible. I'd go here for special occasions, often, if I lived nearby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oustanding”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Five star restaurant - outstanding food, outstanding service, one of Buffalo's best! Creative menu with great appetizers, main course and desserts!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“After all these years...........”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

While in town for a Buffalo Bills game we decided to visit Hutch's which was always one of my favorites when I used to live in Buffalo. The food was good but I had the calves liver which did have a couple of tough "veiny" pieces and was covered with an onion sauce which seemed a little too "sweet". My better half had the lamb chops which were excellent. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjmat49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hutch's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing