We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hutch's

Hutch's
Ranked #9 of 1,030 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Delavan Avenue
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I often take out of town visitors on business to Hutch's. I know I can count on the food, service, and atmosphere to help make a great impression of our city. It is one of Buffalo's best and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    58
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Food was excellent. Bison was tender and cooked med. rare as ordered. Salmon was good, but spicy if that's not your thing. Seared tuna was also excellent. "Cookie" dessert with fruit is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cannot go wrong. We have family in Buffalo and when we visit, this is where we love to go for a nice meal. Small dining area, but very cozy and best steak in the world.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New to us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dining with old friends, Buffalo natives, we enjoyed great service and a good but not quite excellent meal. Patio seating captured a cool breeze on a very hot & humid night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eclectic, upscale bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of four was mostly wowed by the food, and underwhelmed by the service. Though friendly and appearing to have enough staff, the kitchen hampered efforts by being quite slow and uneven, and other diners who arrived later were served sooner. No service recovery was offered, other than consistent, profuse apologies from the wait staff. That being said, most of the entrees and starters were quite good. Escargot were perfectly cooked in a buttery garlic nest. Cheese stuffed poblano peppers were spicy and flavorful. Other entrees included a delicately breaded chicken Milanese, excellent spiced and seared steak, and bison steak, that cooked to the proper temperature was simply delicious. Pass on the soft shell crab until the kitchen learns the proper technique to quick flash pan sear the shell so that it can be easily eaten, not picked out from the meat. The crab was swimming in an ocean of tasty sauce, whereas a smaller dousing would have been sufficient. Overall, we would recommend a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilySherpa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hutch's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing