We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on Holidays! Don't Cook - Go Out!”

Oliver's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oliver's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,043 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Amherst
Description: From the time Frank Oliver built the restaurant in 1936, the diners and food-lovers of Buffalo have returned time and time again for exceptional quality and service. The decades in-between saw ownership changes, new traditions and renovations to expand our landmark space on Delaware Avenue in Buffalo.
Buffalo, NY, USA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go on Holidays! Don't Cook - Go Out!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Always open on holidays, with reservation. Great to go there on a holiday and let them do the cooking and clean up! Very good food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    18
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Satisfying in every way”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Extensive menu including for vegetarians. Accommodating kitchen on modifications to offerings.
Attentive, informed service. Large bar with tables wrapped around it. Fine wine & liquor brand selection. Generous portions. Unbelievable wine offer on Sundays right now: 50% off per bottle.
All in all everyone in our party of four was highly pleased with their meal and experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Llibsenoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Among the Best”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is among the top dozen restaurants in Buffalo. The food is always excellent. On a busy Saturday night, we were allowed to linger and enjoy our meal and dessert. The staff was attentive but gave us respectful space. The bar area may be the best in Buffalo and it is no wonder it hosts the who's who. Relax after dinner with lovely music. We love Hutch's, Tempo, Daniel's, Rue Franklin, and this is right there with them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slip460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Grade A!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spinach bread is PHENOMENAL. Always satisfied when coming to this restaurant as the menu is usual the same as well as the portions that you receive. There is just something comfortable about knowing what you are getting into when out to eat. No surprises and a great meal!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cucina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner, it was just fine.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My Mother chose this place for Thanksgiving Dinner. We had a reservation for early in the day. We used the prompt valet parking and were seated by the window immediately. I was glad were were under the window as the tables were so close together, people seated further out were constantly bumped into by servers and guests (including me going to the rest room). We each ordered their Thanksgiving plate. First to arrive was a basket of bread, which was fresh and varied, but would have been so much better had it been hot, or even warm. Sigh. The turkey was tender and juicy, the broccoli was al dante, the potatoes were rich, but the dressing was strange. More like a dressing loaf, sliced but still quite tasty. Strangely, we had to ask for cranberry sauce, which came in a tiny portion. We did enjoy our dinner and both had more than half left over which we asked to take home. I asked for additional cranberry sauce, and was sad to find the next day that they added barely a teaspoon to my to go container. Sigh. I did very much enjoy the Pinot Blanc from Alsace and the families all dresses up dining nearby. We ordered apple and pumpkin pie and were surprised it was served with out ice cream or whipped cream. It was fine, but unremarkable. Patrick was a great server and helped us to find a pepper grinder that worked. All in all it was pleasant, but I can't find a reason to rush back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DTTAMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing