We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical...good location...friendly host.”
Review of Richmond Place Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Place Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Economical...good location...friendly host.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I just came back from a long weekend stay in Buffalo at the Richmond Place Inn. I enjoyed a better experience than the previous trip advisor. Having driven through Buffalo many times before, this was the first time I have spent any time in this city. We used the Inn as our "base camp" for three nights while exploring Buffalo, shopping in the Niagara Falls area and taking a day trip into Lily Dale, NY.

Although the home does need work, the owner is in the process of renovating the Inn. Glen was very helpful and hospitable to us. He made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfasts were tasty and more food than we could eat.

The home is located in Buffalo's historical Lower West Side. We were pleasantly surprised to find many older victorian homes and preserved older buildings. It made for an interesting walk in the neighbourhood. I would be tempted to go on a historical tour of this area to learn more about the history of this community. The Inn is located close to Allentown - within walking distance - it's a hip, lively strip of eateries, bars and art shops.

If you're looking for an economical, conveniently located place to stay in an interesting neighbourhood, I recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This B&B was run by a very nice man. However, upon arrival, we left. After walking in the rooms smelled damp. Once we checked the beds and found old blood stains on the mattresses and clear milky stains on the bed spread, we considered asking for another room. After we found the cracked mirrors and trash (pizza boxes, soda cans, old straws) in the closet, we left. Also, we had the room booked for only a month prior to staying, however, upon our arrival he informed us he had some sudden renovations and we would have to stay in other rooms, not a suite and not connected to each other. This was such a shame since the neighborhood was gorgeous and I would have loved to take a walk or run around after dinner. I wouldn't even consider this place, should I ever go back to Buffalo.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Super nice proprietor/owner. Beautiful section of the city. Includes a breakfast that is better than any you will get in a restaurant. Within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Definitely great value for your $. We had a wonderful time and will certainly return to Buffalo and the Richmond Place Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanniestour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love the newly remodel room and breakfast so much to eat. I forgot to eat dinner because I was still full from breakfast. Glen was so friendly and went out of his way to make are stay so nice. I recommend this place to every one for the food and you can't beat the value.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjames679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Inn

Property: Richmond Place Inn
Address: 45 Richmond Ave, Buffalo, NY 14222-2107
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and comfortable one of the most conveniently located places, Richmond Place has it all. It is strategically situated in between the majestic Niagara Falls and not to forget close to all the major shopping centers so that there is plenty to take back home. There is a delicate blend of modern convenience and a home-like atmosphere. The best part of this place, however is the sumptuous warm breakfast that is available every morning. If you're feeling homesick and yearning for some home food then this is as good as it gets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing