We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike A at Hotel Lafayette

Mike A at Hotel Lafayette
Ranked #358 of 1,025 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Mike A in the Hotel Lafayette is a contemporary American fine dining experience, begining with the guests first impression of the beautifully restored hotel. Artisan crafted cocktails in the Art Deco era lounge begin an evening of unparalled service and cuisine and ala carte and tasting menus feature the finest ingredients prepared with passion and respect. The superlative wine list will accentuate a perfect dininng experience.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Visited Mike A's in September for an anniversary dinner. The food was the best I've had in Buffalo. I encourage you to try the bone marrow, don't be afraid...it's delicious! My husbands steak was to die for! My Chicken Kiev was impeccably prepared and was served with butter filled ravioli...yes butter filled ravioli! Amazing to say the least. The wine menu is extensive and the mixologist behind the bar created each drink on the menu putting a twist on many classics. I cannot wait to return to Mike A's and cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGirl4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sooooo tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Celebrated our anniversary here last week. The service was excellent. The food was extraordinary! I've been looking for a traditional steakhouse menu, the kind that was common years ago, for a while. Mike A's did not disappoint.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Musescarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, zero ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a business dinner at this new hotel restaurant. It's pricey but the food is top notch. The interior is stark cold and poorly lit. Almost institutional looking. Just some tables in a room.

The chef is a celeb in Buffalo but they need to invest in the interior to round out the experience. Good wine list.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegance of Food and Service at Mike A's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our group had the pleasure of dinner at Mike A's when a vendor from out of town so graciously took us out to dine.

The presentation of our food was artistic. The onion soup is still a marvel to me and a must try for those who love french onion soup. Several types of appetizers were around the table and I only heard yum around the crowd.

The entrees were mouth watering with subtle infused flavors. My duck dinner was exceptional with pine gnocci(sp?) and rapi. Every person with steak claimed it was the best they had ever eaten. Lobster Thermindore, not found in most restaurants was also a hit. Desserts were very good, except the peach clobber was not received as well-- not what most of us were invisioning as peach clobber. All other items were outstanding.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the caliber of excellent service we received. The attention to customer service was so professional and sincere... I have to say thank you for such an enjoyable evening.

This is an upscale dining event that you do not mind paying the competitive prices for the food and service as Mike A's goes above an beyond.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ARiley1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Area
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurant, on the first floor of the Lafayette Hotel, was a pleasant surprise. We were in Buffalo from out of town and had been to the Bills football game. We were still in our casual game-day attire and wandered into this beautiful place. Our apprehension about being severely underdressed was instantly quelled when the waiter treated us like royalty and explained the restaurant's concept and menu to us. We enjoyed a unique shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. We both had steaks (one filet, one ribeye) and we both ate every bite on our plates. I would have licked the plate if it weren't uncivilized! Dinner was so good we had to try dessert. We were not disappointed there, either.

This is definitely an upscale place, however, don't let that deter you from going there if you're not dressed in your finest. The staff we had were nothing but gracious and the food was fantastic and beautiful. Thanks!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KAHLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike A at Hotel Lafayette also viewed

 

Been to Mike A at Hotel Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing