We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Kenmore, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost wonderful”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is an open letter to Rocco Termini. It is part love letter, part plea.
Mr. Termini, I am so thankful for you for buying and restoring this wonderful hotel in the heart of our wonderful city. It is beautifully done and you re to be commended for it. We stayed last night in one of the suites and had a lovely time. The hotel is ALMOST a first class, 5 star hotel. I just want it to BE a first class, five star experience, and it misses. I love great hotels: the Faimount Royal York. The Taj Palace in Mumbai, the Kimberly in NYC, The Hotel Granduca in Houston, TX. and so on. The thing that distinguishes the greats from the not quite greats is attention to the details that make a guest feel pampered and special. In your hotel the rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The beds are very comfortable and the towels are perfect. The fireplace is amusing. However, in a "Bridal Suite" there should be bathrobes, a mini fridge, nicer toiletries. The room colors are lovely and soothing but a bit TOO masculine??
The continental breakfast is NOT good. We came down just before 9:00 to a sea of dirty dishes, no clean dishes and, frankly, a really uninspired food assortment. The Hampton Inns have a much better breakfast!
The Hotel LaFayette is beautiful and having Mike A's there is so amazing, (both the bar and the restaurant.) I love the Pan Am Grill also. I hate to write anything negative about your hotel BUT I want it to be a true Five Star hotel and not just a beautiful piece of architecture. Little details add up! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    84
    29
    7
    14
See reviews for
46
126
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After having stayed here, I can't see why anyone would go back to the Hampton Inn. The rooms are stunning, spacious and very tastefully decorated. The pricing for what you get is very hard to beat. Especially if you're from Toronto, you'll be shocked at what you get for $200 a night.

On the improvement side, Hotel@Lafayette can feel a bit like a hotel run by people that have never done this before. Small things like valet parking, baggage assistance, room service, calling a cab can be much harder here than you'd expect. I've seen the hotel get better with time and I hope to see it continue to improve.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Walking into this place is like dropping in on sepia toned movie set from the 1930's. It has character out the wahzoo. Way cool. We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor(302). It cost $270.00 after AAA discount. Valet parking was another $20.00.Never had to wait for my car. This place gets a lot of weddings and we could hear them from our room (that had no view).The bathrooms were nice and the beds comfortable. The kitchen in the room was fully stocked, almost. No microwave. How can this be? There was a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven and coffee maker but no microwave. Evidently none of the rooms have them. (I asked.) . The hallways are long and sort of creepy. The bar at Mike A's exudes class. I liked this hotel, but probably would try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you are happy staying at the Red Roof, then do so. If you want an authentic historic experience with modern touches, The Lafayette is for you. Each room is unique with amazing murals on the wall of the world's fair that was hosted in Buffalo in 1901. The hotel was designed and constructed by Louise Bethune, the world's first female architect. There are three restaurants and a brewery within the hotel offering good meals and craft beer.
For a business person staying in downtown Buffalo, you can't beat this place for convenience or price. I was told that no chemicals are used in cleaning of the rooms, and I believe it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiagaraGuideGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed the Canadian long weekend at the Hotel Lafayette in a two bedroom suite comfortable to fit the needs of my family of 6.

Spacious enough with two full bathrooms, a full kitchen and two private queen sized bedrooms.

We loved the unique look of the hotel and the rooms. We were told it was originally built in 1904 and recently underwent renovations.

Great service from the valet parkers and the from desk staff all whom were extremely helpful when we needed their services.

My only negative feedback is that our room was not hooked up with hot water. On two separate occasions we called the front desk to inquire about why the hot water wasn't working. Both times, maintenance staff were sent to investigate, however there seemed to be no solution to the problem.
We were provided with another suite to use down the hall from where our room was located.

For the inconvenience, we were not charged for the overnight use of the other suite, or valet parking.

Clean, comfortable, and conveniently located in downtown Buffalo, I would totally stay once again and would recommend this hotel to my family and friends, despite our minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The junior suite was awesome. Fireplace, living space, desk, bedroom, glass walled shower and two TV's. I was literally in awe with how nice this hotel was and spacious. The building itself is very cool. It's old, and you could literally get lost in all the different staircases and hallways. The bed was comfortable, room was clean. It is in a great location but also has plenty of options for food and drinks within the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Buffalo.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffe5023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing