We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Comment on Rooms but Reno is GORGEOUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
370 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
“Can't Comment on Rooms but Reno is GORGEOUS!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

One of the features on the Downtown Buffalo Walking Tour is the Lafayette Hotel and it is an exquisite reward for architectural devotees. An outstanding renovation which anyone with a sense of awe should experience.
The Lobby is a dark Art Deco, Craftsman, Modernism collage of honey-coloured, inlaid, almost Damask walls, long, sharp wooden lines of shelves and space dividers and aircraft aluminum battered into comfortable tub chairs. It is amazing.
If I wanted to feel any more like I was transported back into the 1930's...just step a bit further into Mike A's Restaurant past the Front Desk. This would be a great place to be having a few Sloe Gin Fizzes on a Friday night.
And if you want some more decor step through to the other side of the lobby into the Pan-American Grill. A huge bar with various types of banquettes, benches and stool-tables with an atmosphere crossed between an aviator's lounge from the Hindenburg era, and a wild west saloon. Again looks good.
Will definitely have to come back and stay here ....when we do NOT have to drive anywhere!!!
Now head down the hallway to the stairs at the back of the hotel and walk down to a fabulous restaurant called BUTTERWOOD, which we DID eat at. (See my other review).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    83
    29
    6
    14
See reviews for
45
124
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Greenhouse Room at the Hotel @ The Lafayette is a perfect place for a destination wedding, even though we live less than an hour away. We stayed for the entire weekend and it was absolutely wonderful. Our 1 Bedroom Suite was lovely and trendy. Lindsey was the best wedding coordinator! The food was excellent and our guests enjoyed staying in a hotel room after the wedding. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Perfect weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoegal302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I cant comment on what to see/do in Buffalo since I was there for a wedding but I can say that my stay here was very enjoyable. Every single staff person was friendly including the restaurants and shops. The surrounding area wasn't much to speak of but the wedding reception was also here so it was perfect. I had a junior suite which Id describe as well appointed and "swanky". The rooms seem to be very unique and the sites were spacious. The restaurants within were very good as was the wedding food. The bar was fun but closed well before 2 am and then we moved to another of their bars and that one closed before 2 as well, with a bunch of us still sitting there. The continental breakfast is basic but free so cant really complain. We walked across the street for better coffee. If I were to visit Buffalo again, I'd likely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to be far away from prom/wedding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k2escott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you wish a very special experience with beautiful rooms, great service and friendly smiles, you must go to this wonderful hotel. Thank you Nicole, Lindsay, Cameron and Robert. Say that John from Calif

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler and am usually a slave to whatever points or loyalty program is closest to my meeting at the destination. Upon the advice of a colleague, I chose the Lafayette over the national chains, and am glad that I did. I love historic properties, and the LaFayette did not disappoint. But the modern day amenities are wonderful. I highly recommend the Junior Suite, which is a great value. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A jogging map would have been nice, but that was the only minor nit. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCMFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently was a guest at a Wedding Reception, in the Grand Ballroom of the Hotel. Food was delicious. Tasty and served hot. Steak a perfect pink and crisp, vegetables.

Waiter did forgot about bringing, another pot of coffee to our table, after he ran out. He served a couple of guest, and promised to return, never saw him, again.

Only negitive, was the sound system, perhaps, because of the high ceilings. Best man's toast or announcement of Father and Daughter, dance, was not heard.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtyltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am a business traveler, and often get tired of the cold, unpersonal business hotels. Hotel Lafayette is a much better option in downtown Buffalo. The service is always friendly, the food options are good, the rooms are warm and cozy and the beds are Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing