We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great hotel,great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler and am usually a slave to whatever points or loyalty program is closest to my meeting at the destination. Upon the advice of a colleague, I chose the Lafayette over the national chains, and am glad that I did. I love historic properties, and the LaFayette did not disappoint. But the modern day amenities are wonderful. I highly recommend the Junior Suite, which is a great value. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A jogging map would have been nice, but that was the only minor nit. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCMFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 310 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently was a guest at a Wedding Reception, in the Grand Ballroom of the Hotel. Food was delicious. Tasty and served hot. Steak a perfect pink and crisp, vegetables.

Waiter did forgot about bringing, another pot of coffee to our table, after he ran out. He served a couple of guest, and promised to return, never saw him, again.

Only negitive, was the sound system, perhaps, because of the high ceilings. Best man's toast or announcement of Father and Daughter, dance, was not heard.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtyltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am a business traveler, and often get tired of the cold, unpersonal business hotels. Hotel Lafayette is a much better option in downtown Buffalo. The service is always friendly, the food options are good, the rooms are warm and cozy and the beds are Fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel Lafayette recently underwent a massive renovation and it looks superb. Developer, Rocco Termini took time and care when restoring this Buffalo landmark. Once run down, Termini has restored the site to its original elegance. When you walk into the lobby, you feel like you are transported to another era.

The rooms are all renovated very nicely. They have a modern flair with a vintage twist. There are suites and single rooms available, which is a nice option.

Moreover, it has every amenity imaginable. For those with a sweet tooth, there is one of the best bakeries in Buffalo downstairs, Butterwoods. It is also a bistro (Butterwoods Sweet and Savory) serving delicious brunch. I have never eaten lunch or dinner there, but if it is anything like the desserts and brunch, I am sure it is wonderful.

On the main floor, there are two ballrooms restored to their traditional elegance. They are perfect for a wedding or upscale party. On the same floor is Mike A's steakhouse and upscale bar. I haven't eaten there, but heard it is excellent.

There is also the Pan-American Grille, by Pearl Street on this floor. The bar itself is huge and serves Pearl Street's famous micro-brews. However, the menu and service need some work. While I love Pearl Street's menu, as far as pub food goes, the Pan Am grille is limited and the food is sub-par. Hopefully, this changes, because it is such a great spot and nice for a more casual meal. Pearl Street also, has two rooms in the building, which are nicely done and a great size for a wedding of 240 or less.

Additionally, there are a few shops inside including a flower shop, dress shop and gift shop. Centered in the heart of downtown, it is the perfect place to stay if you are heading to a game, the theatre or the local nightlife. Two thumbs up and thank you Rocco Termini for the excellent addition to the Buffalo downtown!

Room Tip: The junior suites are just a little bigger than the one room and give you a sitting area with a fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a visit home to Buffalo in March, my wife and I decided to have lunch at the old Hotel Lafayette in downtown Buffalo, NY. It is amazing how the developers have saved, restored and reopened this classic hotel while preserving its circa 1906 atmosphere. We did not stay overnight, but we had lunch at " Butterwood Sweet and Savory" restaurant located in the lower level of the hotel. The food, service, and Pan American atmosphere were all excellent. For anyone interested in a relaxed, charming afternoon, I would highly recommend a walk around the hotel, then lunch at Butterwood.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Am stunned at the bad reviews. This hotel was booked for me for business travel, and I could not be happier. It is Art Deco, and gorgeous, so complaining about that period's "look" seems a bit off. Lovely reception people, great burger in attached grill. In room "fireplace" with funky colored flames. Soaking tub. Upscale elegant without being at all snobby. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank SmashedAvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for such wonderful compliments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to you returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First and foremost, I'm a huge downtown Buffalo supporter and was so pleased when the Lafayette Hotel was purchased and developed. The bones are there....the ceilings are beautiful, the huge ballroom, and the welcoming lobby. They were able to bring a modern boutique feeling to this dated space. Our room was not our style (art deco) but it was beautifully appointed with the great use of "barn doors" where space was tight. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sitting area very relaxing.
Here's were they need work:
Check-in - the staff door behind the reception area was open so we could see all the junk plus the staff's purses (not really smart). The receptionist called us "yous guys". If you are not from Buffalo you most likely never heard that term. Let's keep it at the local gin mill and not at a $200 per night luxury hotel. The receptionist also announced our hotel room number. That is check-in 101...never announce the room number; write it down. Once we found the elevator we were off to our room.
Room - very nice but only one remote for 2 TVs. We stand in a junior suite which had ample room. Enjoyed it very much
Dining - ate at Michael A's which was delicious. Service was excellent and food outstanding. Highly recommend
Breakfast - we some how found out there was a complimentary breakfast in the am (reception did not tell us this) so we stopped down for some coffee and a bagel. It was a very small spread but satisfactory in my book. Unfortunately there were no knives for the bagels. After gathering our goodies we sat in the lobby to enjoy the atmosphere. At that second a worker started to vacuum the lobby. Needless to say we headed back to the room.
I highly recommend this hotel and want to see it flourish! So please do not let this review deter you from staying. I just hope that management reads this review and takes steps to put some polish on the process.

Room Tip: second floor junior suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buckelisttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for such a helpful and positive review. We are glad that your room was comfortable and relaxing for your stay! You mentioned some very helpful points for us to improve upon, and we made immediate changes to correct these issues. We purchased extra television remotes to assure there is a remote for every TV in the room. The door behind the desk now remains closed to assure a professional feel for our valued guests, and to assure the security of employee’s belongings. Most importantly we are continuing to train and improve the guest experience provided by our team of staff at the Hotel @ The Lafayette. Thank you again for your comments and we love to hear your support for Downtown Buffalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.5 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: $127 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing