We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new property, a few kinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed July 22, 2012

During a recent visit to Buffalo I wanted to stay at the Mansion on Delaware Avenue (MoDA) throughout but that property was booked for certain nights. I stayed at MoDA for most nights but then stayed at the Hotal @ Lafayette for my last night in town as recommended to me by the "butlers" at ModDA. The dual stay provided an interesting contrast between the properties. See my separate review of Mansion on Delaware for more detail about that property.

The Hotel @ Lafayette is completely and totally recently renovated and it shows. Almost everything has that crisp "newness" about it. And it's a real pleasure to enjoy everything before they start to show the wear and tear that will come over the years. (For example the hairdryer cord was still folded and bound like it just came out of the box!)

This is a beautiful, beautiful property. The decor is a completely charming blend of the "original" look (circa 1904 to the 1930's) and some updated modern elements. We stayed in a Junior King Suite that was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in during our many years of worldwide travel. I highly recommend that type of room (unless you are a honeymooner in which case the (I am told) Honeymoon Suite is incomparable.)

On the other hand, there are a few "kinks" to the new establishment. Some incomplete elements in the lobby are still "sitting around" looking like they are waiting for construction crews to finish and all of the windows (interior and exterior) looked like someone had just recently wiped them down with a not quite clean rag.) On our arrival, my wife and I had just driven in from Toronto (a longish drive via Niagara on the Lake) and were looking for a "nice" place to have dinner and drinks. The pleasant young woman at the front desk recommended the on-premise martini bar or the on-premise grill. We ate at the rather noisy sports-bar-like grill and only later discovered that there was a fabulous fine dining restaurant named Mike's @ Lafayette not 50 feet from the reception desk! The grill was OK but, MAN, we wish we'd been offered the fine dining. Also, because the restaurants on the property are actually run by independent operators, you can't just put the tab on your hotel bill. No big deal, but a little surprise.

The breakfast spread is rather meager (and certainly does not compare to that at MoDA).

For ambiance and decor, Hotel @ Lafayette is a winner and is a good value to boot. But they do need to finish their renovation and work out the kinks.

Room Tip: You can't miss with the Junior King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZihuaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 332 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed in a Junior King Suite...and was extremely impressed. The decor of the entire hotel is amazing, very 1930's meets modern style, like said in the other reviews. The most comfortable bed and linens I have ever slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was very cool as well. Cannot say enough about this place...and cannot wait to what it is like when all aspects are completed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Blocked off a bunch of rooms over the weekend after nearly every hotel in Buffalo was sold out. It must be because not many people know that the hotel either exists or didn't know it opened. Anyway, all that was available were junior suites and one standard room. Many of my friends who had reserved room at other hotels for the weekend payed more than a junior suite here and the room were far superior. First of all, the hotel is beautiful. I was absolutely shocked at the amazing renovation job on this building. The lobby is really nice with access to the various boutique shops located right off of it. There is also the brewery/restaurant and Mike A's steakhouse. Mike A's may end up being the top steakhouse of Buffalo in the near future. I will have to visit soon for sure.
As for the rooms they are wonderful. Beautiful decor. Modern meets 1930's. Really slick. The suite I stayed in had a full kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. It's nicer than most peoples apartments. Great service, good location, and beautiful rooms at a reasonable price. It's a no brainier to stay here. I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit in Buffalo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUFAN4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel has recently been renovated (millions of $) and is gorgeous. It's like walking into The Great Gatsby. I attended a wedding reception here in the smaller ballroom which was unbelievable. Our single room had a king bed, great decor, and an awesome bathroom. The staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly. There is also a Bar and Grill just off the lobby which is a satellite brewery for The Pearl Street Brewery a few blocks over. Great beer and nice to have it so close. I could have spent an hour just in the lobby looking at all the little architectural details.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klariprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I visited the Hotel on two occassions, found it by accident. We toured the lobby, first floor banquet rooms and other public area. They have done a excellent job in the restoration of this fine old building. We returned the next evening for dinner in the restraunt, and more then pleased with the food, service and ambiance, only wish I had book my thee night stay there.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank jimNdbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Disclaimer: this hotel had only been open 4 weeks at the time of my stay. Unfortunately it showed; the details just weren't being paid attention to. One night I had no bath towels, there were coffee mugs but no water glasses, the front desk person couldn't find my room - literally. She offered to show me my room and then couldn't find it. But the staff is warm and welcoming and the place has a lot of potential. I look forward to a future business trip to see how they've progressed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This brand new boutique hotel is beyond excellent!!! Everything is modern, chic, unique, staff is friendly, and the location is perfect. Centered in Lafayette Square, withen walking distance to shopping, dinning, the waterfront (all new attractions there), and an exciting nightlife. Will definitely recommend this place and will be staying here on my next visit to Buffalo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking 'Lafayette Square' for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taboo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.5 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#9 of 25 in Buffalo
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#14 of 25 in Buffalo
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: $119 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing