We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of history and a complete view of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buffalo City Hall

Buffalo City Hall
Ranked #8 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The towering City Hall is an art deco masterpiece, richly decorated with figures and symbols portraying the history and spirit of the city. The 28th-floor observation deck offers panoramic views of Lake Erie and western New York.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lot of history and a complete view of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Someone was available to tell us about the 360 degree view of the city and the surrounding area. There's a lot of history that might have been missed without the what we learned in our tour around the city hall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AWF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    93
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
369 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Phoenix Rising out of a Bad Rep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Despite the modern obsession for tearing down the old with total disregard for the historic, as we do here in Toronto, Buffalo has done a remarkable job of cleaning up, redefining and re-marketing its downtown core.
Out of the ghetto and depressing aura which it acquired in the 50's and 60's due to it's economic decline, the Buffalo Visitors' Centre has assembled a book of downtown walking tours to celebrate the fantastic architectural and cultural heritage which it has nurtured over the past half century to present itself as the "Queen City" it once was. I highly recommend you do yourself a favour and take a day or two to experience this "new" city. The churches and other historic buildings such as the City Hall and Hotel Lafayette (see my other review of it and its restaurants), and an outstanding collection of buildings by Frank Lloyd Wright are spectacular examples of historic pride and restoration amid some tough economic obstacles.
City Hall has a knowledgeable volunteer staff (thanks especially to our guide, LISA!!!) which directs a free, hour-long walking tour through this edifice starting at noon. (And just because it's free don't be afraid to tip your guides people!!!!!)
But check out their website and get some brochures mailed to you. It's a great way to spend a day or two ....and NOT just in the outlet malls (which, by the way, aren't much of a deal anymore!!!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting buffalo and happened to walk past city hall and decided to walk through to see what it had to offer. The building was built in the 1930's and looks beautiful on the outside. We went inside and were surprised to find that we could go to the top floor and go outside onto the observation deck and see beautiful views of the city. There was no security and no lines, which made it a great experience and allowed us to be up there for as long as we wanted. We took some great photos and gave us something interesting to do for about 30 minutes to 1 hour. I would recommend to anyone that visits buffalo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JPaul032001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a great afternoon pretending to be a tourist for the day. Great architecture from floor to ceiling and a tremendous amount of detail to appreciate. Love the building-dislike the politics of the building.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Architecture in Buffalo is awesome. There are some beautiful buildings to see there and City Hall is one of them. Check this out and the close by Liberty Building and Statler Towers. Really cool stuff if you are into older buildings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing