We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Buffalo & Erie County Naval and Military Park
Ranked #3 of 157 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a very hot day, but very interesting to tour through the museum and big ships. We took a cruise down the river and into Lake Erie also, very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    269
    28
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Marvelous for all ages”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We take our grandchildren here all the time, and to the adjacent renovated canal area also. Lots to do and see here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travllingrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,379 reviews
692 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“Excellent Vessels and docents”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When we heard there was a Fletcher Class destroyer we had to go. Vern's father did a round-the-world-tour on the DDS USS McCord. Being able to tour a sister ship, especially the one named for the Sullivan Brothers, was an honor and great experience. Once onboard USS The Sullivans we could feel the closeness of the ship, imagining working on her. From there the USS Little Rock, a Cruiser, seemed huge! What an impressive ship! So much to see and learn about her history. These pieces of living history are incredible to witness and board. The 3rd ship, the submarine USS Croaker is being reworked so we did not go below deck, but it is tiny in comparison and imaging working conditions aboard chilled my spine. The museum itself has a huge amount of information, and there are other military tools on site, such as the PT boat, the Huey, and a Duck. We were thrilled to find this great installation bringing our naval history to the public. Well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly activity”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The naval park and marina are a great summertime visit. You can board several ships, there are exhibits and restaurants. It's on the water so you can watch the boats. There are often concerts and activities in the harbor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Three Ships are worth the Price of Admission”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a Navy veteran, I enjoyed the hours I spent aboard Little Rock, The Sullivans and Croaker. The park is clean and informative and it is a good value for the price of admission.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo & Erie County Naval and Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo & Erie County Naval and Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing