We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Body Worlds Vital is awesome!”

Buffalo Museum of Science
Ranked #29 of 163 things to do in Buffalo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Buffalo Museum of Science offers educational and exciting experiences the whole family can enjoy, including interactive exhibit spaces, special traveling exhibits, a National Geographic 3D Cinema, collections of over 700,000 artifacts and specimens. Record your own weather forecast or step into a wind chamber in Our Marvelous Earth, explore health and the human body in Explore YOU, build your own gravity wall in the In Motion studio, explore over 1,500 insect specimens in Bug Works, or discover science with your toddler and young scientists in the Explorations early childhood gallery.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came here for Body Worlds! Loved the exhibit, it was very educational but also pretty neat to see the human body up close. Totally worth it if you are in Buffalo to come and check out. I wish I could have taken photos, but they have a no picture policy with this exhibit.

Thank kittiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and for visiting BMS during your stay in Buffalo! Yes, the BODY WORLDS Vital exhibition is as amazing as it is inspiring and we're glad you enjoyed it. We only wish it could stay longer than this summer!

If you didn't have time during your visit, we hope you return again to explore all of our exhibits, interactive science studios and National Geographic 3D Cinema.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"human body"
in 12 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 18 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 9 reviews
"all ages"
in 16 reviews
"younger set"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 8 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 3 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 4 reviews
"second floor"
in 8 reviews
"kids will love"
in 3 reviews
"year olds"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 8 reviews
"any age"
in 3 reviews
"special events"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"mummies"
in 23 reviews
Filter

161 - 165 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited this museum as we had a membership at an affiliated science museum that gave us free admission. The older parts of the museum with the stuffed animal displays were of no interest to our kids, but once we got to the newer exhibits our kids were more interested. The 3D movie on meerkats was a bit of a letdown. It was a good way to spend an hour or two for virtually no cost to us, but I wouldn't go too far out of my way to visit otherwise.

Thank Jon523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. Feedback like yours is exactly why we are currently undergoing a complete transformation of our exhibit spaces throughout the museum. By the end of 2015, we will have six more interactive science studios in addition to out Explorations early childhood gallery and 3D cinema. Our next science studio. In Motion, opens June 22, 2013 and will focus on physics and engineering and our Invertebrate studio opens in October 2013. Remaining studios include Culture (spring 2014), Biodiversity, Extinction and Space.

I encourage you to visit again to see everything new - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by your experience.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our 3 and 4 year old daughters love to come to the museum for all the interactive, hands-on exhibits. Almost the entire first floor has been given over to an area just for kids. We have a membership and it has been a godsend in the winter. The membership (as of today) is only $60 for a family and pays for itself in two visits. We can spend 2-3 hours here without any trouble at all. They like to watch the 3D movies too, but with the exception of one on Meerkats, they do not seem to be geared toward a younger audience. Our daughter recently had her birthday party here too and they did a wonderful job. I can't speak to how well the musuem would go over with older kids, but mine love it!

Thank madmprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We love to hear when Members take full advantage of their Membership benefits! As we continue to install our remaining five science studios, there will be more activities geared towards multi-generational learning while still highlighting our rich collections.

We look forward to continue growing and learning with your family for years to come.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family has been members for years and while we were happy to hear about the new exhibits we were underwhelmed when actually seeing them. They are very generic and plasticy. Most of them offer little information and don't reward repeat visits. I was appalled to find out that they are actually planning on getting rid of their Egypt exhibit (the only 1st class exhibit in the entire museum) presumably to be replaced by another mediocre exhibit. Go see it while you can. It closes in late June.

1  Thank Venera I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for your continued membership support. While I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment in some of the changes we've made to our permanent experiences, they have been extremely well-received by many of our guests, educators and school groups. We're taking a step away from the typical diorama-style Natural History Museum to encourage active learning about science, technology and our unique collections to adapt to New York State's core curriculum and teaching standards.

We understand that not everyone will be pleased with these changes - especially seeing as the museum has not seen much change at all since it was built in 1929. While we are sad to see Whem Ankh close this July, our new Culture Science Studio that will replace it will allow our guests to explore a variety of different cultures from around the world and enable us to enhance our programming for guests and school groups. Whem Ankh was originally created as a temporary exhibit but ended up becoming a semi-permanent fixture for the past 15 years. We will reintroduce and reinterpret some of the collections pieces from this space into the new Culture Studio.

We are always looking for constructive feedback so that we can improve our planning process for future science studios and welcome you to contact us to share your thoughts and opinions. If you'd like to come in to meet with members of our planning committee, please contact me at my email address below.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Step into the Buffalo Museum of Science today and you might be surprised by all the construction going on both inside and out. Originally conceived as a natural history museum, it is slowly being converted into an interactive hands-on science center. New exhibits are opening at a rate of about 2-3 per year and for the price of admission you can't go wrong. Bonus for those who see the awesome IMAX films that offer a super realistic 3D experience.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are certainly working hard to bring new experiences to the museum and while our science studios do have a Science Center feel about them, we are infusing their interactive stations with our collection of 700,000+ artifacts and specimens - making the BMS experience incredibly unique!

While our National Geographic 3D Cinema is not IMAX, it does offer high-quality national geographic films that are played in IMAX theaters across the nation.

We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing