We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BMS”

Buffalo Museum of Science
Ranked #24 of 161 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Buffalo Museum of Science offers educational and exciting experiences the whole family can enjoy, including interactive exhibit spaces, special traveling exhibits, a National Geographic 3D Cinema, collections of over 700,000 artifacts and specimens. Record your own weather forecast or step into a wind chamber in Our Marvelous Earth, explore health and the human body in Explore YOU, build your own gravity wall in the In Motion studio, explore over 1,500 insect specimens in Bug Works, or discover science with your toddler and young scientists in the Explorations early childhood gallery.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

They *really* don't like adults everything is for the kids and adults without kids are not really welcome. Don't bother

1  Thank andi_3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

andi_3K,

I'm sorry to hear you did not find our offerings appropriate for adults. While many of our adult guests enjoy our displays of rare and unique collections, we are aware that adults also want an enjoyable interactive science experience just as much as our youngest guests. While the museum may not currently cater specifically to adults as much as children, we are in the process of installing eight permanent interactive science studios designed for multi-generational learning and enjoyment.

Our new Explore YOU health science studio is the first of these eight experiences, and our earth systems studio, Our Marvelous Earth opens in October. I encourage you to come back to explore extreme weather, geological phenomena and alternative forms of energy in this immersive, hands-on experience.

We also offer a variety of adult-only events, including our happy hour Science Cafe series, which gives a fun twist to your 'usual' science lectures. There are also events like Beerology, Get a Clue, Star Lights, and others. Our upcoming fall exhibit, The Science of Sports, will also explore science in ways that both children and adults can appreciate. I think you'll really enjoy the exhibit we're bringing next summer, but I'm not at liberty yet to say what it is so stay tuned!

I hope you consider visiting again in the coming months to experience our new studios as they come on board. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at the changes we're making suitable for adults and children alike.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good for history buffs and nice gift shop. Needs a facelift but they are trying to do more interesting special shows to attract young families. There is an admission fee and free parking.

Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Pat B,

Thank you for your review and for visiting. Yes, our collections (and our building itself) are rich with history and I'm glad to hear you appreciate it. While the museum itself is over 80 years old, we are in the process of a major internal face lift and are currently in the beginning stages of installing eight new permanent interactive Science Studios.

I hope you had a chance to visit the new Explore YOU health sciences studio because it is just a glimpse into what the next 7 studios will bring. Our next studio, Our Marvelous Earth, opens on October 6 and will focus on earth systems - extreme weather, geological phenomena and alternative forms of energy our planet provides. Our Motion studio will follow in May 2013, and then will come Extinction, Biodiversity, Culture, Space, and Insects (in no particular order).

We will also continue to bring in special travelling exhibits at certain times of the year.

I encourage you to visit again in the coming months/year to see all the changes taking place. I think you will be pleasantly surprised!

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Family visit 1 boy (6) and girl (7). Attended at 10 am when it opens. Stayed about 2.5 hours.
The slightly older day camp kids swarmed the Grossology attraction and our children couldn't access some of the popular / fun exhibits. Other floors and rooms we had to ourselves. Very clean and organized. Lots of fun for the kids.

Thank Baloogaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, and for visiting!

We're glad you had an enjoyable time at the museum. Yes, near the end of the summer, especially near the end of the week, many area daycamps take field trips to the museum and it can get a little crowded in some of the exhibits. We adhere to the maximum capacities for our special exhibits per the exhibit company's suggestions to try to avoid overcrowding, but some groups are a little more rowdy than others. Guest experience, whether a group or individual family, is of utmost importance at BMS.

I hope you visit again soon to enjoy our upcoming Science of Sports exhibit and our new permanent interactive science studios. The next studio, Our Marvelous Earth, will focus on earth systems, including extreme weather, geological phenomena and alternative forms of energy our planet provides. This will be the second of eight studios we will install over the next few years and it opens October 6.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you at BMS again soon!

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The kids love this place...always something new and they even still love what they've already seen as they seem to improve their knowledge.

Thank naninano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

naninano,

Thank you for your review and we love knowing our guests have an educational (and fun!) experience at BMS. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I could have spent all day here with my family. Fascinating exhibits and Grossology Exhibit was fantastic, we had so much fun and learned a lot about the human body, dinosaurs, extinct wildlife and ancient Egypt. I highly recommend this Museum!

Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSVisitorExperience, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Museum of Science, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for your review, Mary. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you come again. We're adding new experiences all the time and have many exciting changes up our sleeve for the coming year. Stay tuned!

Best,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing