We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but still well worth the visit!”

Buffalo Museum of Science
Ranked #25 of 159 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Buffalo Museum of Science offers educational and exciting experiences the whole family can enjoy, including interactive exhibit spaces, special traveling exhibits, a National Geographic 3D Cinema, collections of over 700,000 artifacts and specimens. Record your own weather forecast or step into a wind chamber in Our Marvelous Earth, explore health and the human body in Explore YOU, build your own gravity wall in the In Motion studio, explore over 1,500 insect specimens in Bug Works, or discover science with your toddler and young scientists in the Explorations early childhood gallery.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my daughter one afternoon and she loved it. It is obviously not the most well funded place but they do a great job with what they have. We wandered for the afternoon, it is not the largest but great afternoon for the kids.

Thank Icebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Icebin,

Thank you for your review and we hope you consider visiting again. We certainly make every effort to give our visitors a positive experience and you would be amazed at all the work going on behind the scenes.

Over the next four to five years we will be installing eight new interactive science studios thanks to generous donations by area businesses, foundations and personal donors. The new Explore YOU health sciences studio was the first to open in March 2012, and Our Marvelous Earth is next to open in October 2012 which will focus on Earth systems (weather, geology, energy, etc.)

Thank you again for visiting and for your review. We'd love for you to stop by in the fall to see what's new!

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
716.896.5200 x312
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

My kids are super spoiled so they expect a lot from places. We didn't spend the whole day but we did enjoy the time we did spend there. It was a great rainy day activity.

Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Jenny,

Thank you for your review. While we can't compete in size with some of the newer science centers across the nation, we certainly try to fit in as much as possible into our historic building in order to provide our guests with a memorable experience.

I hope you enjoyed our newest addition, the Explore YOU health sciences studio. It is the first of seven interactive science studios we will install over the next four to five years. Our earth systems studio opens in October. From broadcasting a weather report to earthquake shake tables, our guests will definitely be spoiled with interactive and educational fun!

Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
716.896.5200 x312
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited with our 3 and 5 year old and had a wonderful time. Some exibits were to old for them but we had the best time. Something for everyone there.

Thank jeanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Jeanne -

Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We've been making many changes at the museum to transform our visitor experience into an interactive attraction. We hope you visit again in October 2012 when we open our earth systems studio. You'll also want to check out our new National Geographic films in our 3D cinema - they just started showing this week. And don't forget about Bubblefest in September!

Best,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a great museum to visit with or without children, although they have a very nice children's area for interactive play. I take my grandsons here when they are in from out of town. Occasionally they have a traveling exhibit and a very nice gift shop.

Thank DstmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

DstmNY -

Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you return again soon. We recently started our National Geographic 3D films which would be a hit with you AND you grandsons! And if you haven't been here since January, you'll definitely want to check out our new health science studio, Explore YOU. We will also open our earth systems studio in October 2012, and Bubblefest is just around the corner as well as our next special exhibit, The Science of Sports.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Amy Biber
Marketing Manager
Buffalo Museum of Science
abiber@sciencebuff.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We went for the CSI exhibit and it was my first trip to the museum since moving to Buffalo 4 years ago. It was not the biggest science-themed museum I have ever been to, but it was fun and educational. Prices weren't horrible, either.

Thank feuerrader24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing