We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Buffalos Treasures”

Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens
Ranked #12 of 152 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An oasis of breathtaking beauty, these gardens - filled with flowers, plants, herbs and cacti from around the world - are housed inside an 1890s Victorian glass-domed greenhouse. The site, designed by New York Central Park creator Frederick Law Olmstead, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of Buffalos Treasures”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Buffalo Botanical Gardens is a superior to any other I have visited, to include the national one in DC. They do a wonderful job maintaining it and its a wonderful way to spend a few hours while in town. Great for kids and adults.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimflwrpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    102
    36
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elixir to mind, eyes and soul.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I would drive 100 miles to visit here. A must place to visit, complete solace and fragrance rich atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shameem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Classic building, but poor condition.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was ashamed to say that even though I live in Buffalo, I had never been to the botanical gardens, even though I've been to ones in other cities. I quickly realized that I really wasn't missing all that much. The building is a classic structure (and small), but it looks like it hasn't been maintained at all. Paint is peeling, wood frames are rotting, and metal shelves and frames are rusting. The collection of plants is small, but impressive, and the staff does well with what they have to work with. I will admit that I've been spoiled by other conservatories, such as the gem in Pittsburgh, which keeps you captivated for hours. The Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens will hold your interest for an hour at best. I would recommend visiting the Our Lady of Victory Basilica nearby to make a trip worth your while.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabresfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fingerlakes NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Heavenly Sanctuary!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would drive to Buffalo just to go here! (and to visit my daughter, heehee) Between the stunning architecture and the 1st class gardens I could so live here. Or visit every day :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JimTerry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilla, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Botanical Gardens- Not A Trip to Your Gardening Center”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Botanical Gardens can be a forgotten attraction for many Buffaloians and visitors to the Buffalo area. Perhaps it is because of its location away from points of interest to the city of Buffalo, it tends to get overlooked as a place to visit. The Botanical Gardens are much more than a building to house plants.

There are many reasons to visit this site. It's history. It was one of the designs of Fredrick Law Olmstead and his architectural vision for Buffalo. The building is magnificent. Look up and around and study the architecture. You'll surprise yourself with things that you notice. It is kid friendly. There is a play area for children and plenty of room for them to move around in the aisles as you look at the various displays. Check the schedule of events planned throughout the year. Lastly, it is a wonderful remedy for the winter blahs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggio133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing