We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than it was” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buffalo Zoo

The Buffalo Zoo
Ranked #13 of 150 things to do in Buffalo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1875, the Buffalo Zoo is the third oldest zoo in the United States. Each year, the Zoo welcomes approximately 400,000 visitors and is the second largest tourist attraction in Western New York, second only to Niagara Falls.Located on 23.5 acres of Buffalo’s beautiful Delaware Park, the Zoo exhibits a diverse collection of wild and exotic animals and more than 320 different species of plants. Open year-round, the Zoo is a constant source of conservation, education and recreation for Western New York.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Zoo has undergone many changes in the years we have been going. There are still places that need to be fixed up, but it is certainly a nice visit. It usually takes less than 2 hours to walk the entire place and although they have a "zoo key" that the kids can hear about different animals, I think they could work on their presentation to interest the kids more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JARB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for your review. Please know that we constantly trying to upgrade and improve the experience for our visitors. A new app is coming to provide even more information and improve the visitors time with us.

Thanks again,

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    228
    98
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rain Forest display is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Been to many zoos in many cities this zoo ranks as one of the best! I highly recommend! Parking is easy and the bears are awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We're pretty proud of the Rainforest exhibit, with more than 140 different animals residing inside, there is something to see everywhere you look.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit the Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Buffalo Zoo has made many updates and is in the process of creating a new habitat for the bears that live there. This is a great place to visit in the summer! Don't miss the rainforest exhibit and be sure to visit the gorillas! They are always very entertaining! The Buffalo Zoo is a place for all ages. Bring your own packed lunch if you want to save some money. Picnic areas are available to all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We have completed a lot of new exhibits in recent years, but as always, guests are welcome to bring their own picnics for any visit, even ones at this time of the year.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager, Buffalo Zoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND ISLAND
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
384 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“roar against the machine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

ever fighting against the two predators of finances and spoilsports, Buffalo Zoo continues to present a splendid face to the world... polar bears, giraffes, everything you can imagine in decent, if not pristine, surroundings... it says much that its director left for "greener fields," so to speak, and returned...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGANDPOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
And we are very glad she chose to do so. We are doing our best to make the most out of the space we have. While the Zoo isn't necessarily a destination one as in some other cities, we believe we have a great space created for a fun couple of hours, presenting some exhibits that might be tougher to see or non existent in other facilities.

Thank you for your review and your support,

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager, Buffalo Zoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bargain when you get family membership”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Love the amazon, meerkats and sea lions exhibits. Just need to visit twice to make annual membership pay off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProfBobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for supporting the Zoo with that valuable membership commitment. Our memberships run a year in length and you can come as often as you'd like, all for the price of tickets to one movie for a family of four.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager, Buffalo Zoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buffalo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing