We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meeting the Polar Bear Cubs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buffalo Zoo

The Buffalo Zoo
Ranked #12 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1875, the Buffalo Zoo is the third oldest zoo in the United States. Each year, the Zoo welcomes approximately 400,000 visitors and is the second largest tourist attraction in Western New York, second only to Niagara Falls.Located on 23.5 acres of Buffalo’s beautiful Delaware Park, the Zoo exhibits a diverse collection of wild and exotic animals and more than 320 different species of plants. Open year-round, the Zoo is a constant source of conservation, education and recreation for Western New York.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meeting the Polar Bear Cubs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I took my grandkids to meet the polar bear cubs on a recent trip to the zoo. What a delightful experience ! We also enjoyed the rain forest garden very much. The river otters were swimming and the giraffes were out as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank joni1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We're glad you were able to facilitate that introduction. While we are a small facility, one of the things we've been able to do is make that sort of thing happen. Our bear exhibit is closed at the moment and the polar bear cubs are in a temporary space, but the happy tradeoff is seeing them in such close proximity that wouldn't be possible in a larger facility.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    229
    98
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ransomville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where's the animals?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to Buffalo Zoo to see the 2 new polar bear cubs. Awww, they were so cute. That was nice but what happened to the rest of the animals? There used to be multiples of each kind. Now not so much. Saw 1 lion, 1 tiger, 1 sea lion, 1 elephant, 1hyena, 1 bison.... There were gorillas( and a new baby there as well) which was nice. A number of giraffes and otters and reptiles. But felt sorry for the lone animals. No other bears, and there used to be several. The zoo is open year round but there were no shows or demonstrations except for a single sea lion demo. Pretty disappointed in the quality of a zoo that used to be full of animals and had loads of visitors. We were guests that day and I would have been more upset if I'd paid to get in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review.

I should point that there are some multiples you may have missed. On the day you visited, one elephant was inside while the other was out. We actually have four bison and they have no place to hide. While the Sea Lion is alone currently as his exhibit mate recently passed away, that is a temporary condition. The Amur Tiger that you saw is a solitary sort unless it is mating season. Forced interaction isn't something you want to have with that species. And as for the Lion, he is being introduced slowly to two new females. They rotate in the exhibit space and as the introductions flow well, you'll be seeing them together.

Shows are done during the summer months and again later in the winter. In September when you visited, much of our seasonal staff departs as attendance does go down with the return to school for kids and all the obligations that are attached to that.

And we still have spectacle bears in our vanishing animals exhibit, but the emphasis has gone more toward Polar Bears as we get ready to start the actual construction on their new exhibit.

Thanks again for visiting and sharing your thoughts.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Was a little disappointed when we started our zoo visit, as there were no animals in the exhibits, however, as we ventured further, we found many animals out and about in their pens. Truly enjoyed our time at the zoo, however, we wish some of the exhibits had been better marked and signage was more explicit on where things were located. It was very clean and tidy and animals looked very well cared for. A definite yes to visit when in the city!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your review. What you might have seen at first is the one exhibit that has been closed. That is our old bear exhibit. It's been shut down and we are about to begin replacing it with a brand new exhibit. It is a sizeable empty footprint to be sure, but as you saw, once you get past that, there is plenty to see and experience and we are glad you kept going.

Glad you had a nice visit.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love our zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wow. this place is a gem. Dr. Fernandez has done a wonderful job at upgrading the grounds. Now if only she can get additional funding from some of WNY well healed individuals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank baseballfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We're hopeful your funding wish comes true as well. Over 500,000 visitors made it to see us this year and we hope that makes some of those folks take notice.

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went to the Buffalo Zoo with my boyfriend and my grown children and their significant others. We had a wonderful time! The zoo is beautiful and filled with a lot of animals. It is large enough where you will be there for at least a couple of hours. It's clean and well maintained. The animals appear to be well cared for.
We had a great day at the zoo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DSmith14622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpowerszoo, Manager at The Buffalo Zoo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Very glad that you and your family had a nice visit with us. Thanks for sharing

Michael Powers
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buffalo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing