We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for an afternoon date” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albright-Knox Art Gallery

Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Ranked #7 of 150 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Albright-Knox Art Gallery strives to enhance the understanding and appreciation of contemporary and modern art, principally by developing, exhibiting, and preserving its world-renowned Collection.The Albright-Knox Art Gallery is dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of contemporary and modern art. As a hub of artistic and cultural energies, it strives to be an inspiring educational resource for all audiences.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for an afternoon date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Since I'm from the area, I enjoy a yearly trip to the Albright-Knox. The collections are lovely and interesting. Afterwards, head down the Elmwood Strip to Pano's for dinner. Makes for a great afternoon!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kai724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    116
    32
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“First Friday, Free and Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visited on Friday, February 1 st and the experience was simply lovely. First Fridays are free in this wonderful gallery. the setting is second to none in Buffalo, close to a beautiful park. The collection is rich and the size of the collection is not large. Bob, the guide, made the visit very interesting as his knowledge was exceptional. There is a free tour at 1330 hrs and we enjoyed the interactive way Bob involved the guests. If you are interested in art, this venue is a gem. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weirdest art museum ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I guess I didn't read up enough on what kind of art was at the Albright. It was a very nice museum, the staff was nice, I just wasn't expected so much art I did not understand and just was just wondering what each piece meant the whole time. I hope to go on a tour next time I go back. First Fridays are free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenJoan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not just for enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is enjoyable even if you aren't artsy fartsy. A great place to go to enrich your life, or to just pass the time. It offers a blend of both contemporary as well as modern, that is top notch. A crown jewel for the city of Buffalo. Id recommendthe this place for a nice inexpensive date. No dress code but, id wear slacks and a dress shirt. Afterwards go to dinner on elmwood or grab a few drinks nearby.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nachotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A mix of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

They lean more towards contemporary now but there still are masterpieces from all generations. The free Friday evenings are a treat. If you miss that their hours can be tough.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lebuffamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albright-Knox Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing