We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food! Fresh and Local!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rock Kitchen and Bar - CLOSED

Black Rock Kitchen and Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food! Fresh and Local!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have eaten at the Blackrock a number of times and every time the food has been wonderful. Each time our dining companions and I share some of the others plates and we haven't found a dish that hasn't been amazing. The lemon schnitzel (while not super lemony?) was perfectly done and a wonderful balance of flavor ( I love arugula!) They took reservations without a problem and I noticed you can eat at the bar as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hostwthemost_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious, innovative food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

On our last trip to Buffalo, in November, we had Brunch here (see review below) and loved it so much that we came back for dinner this time in town. What a great vibe this place has! It was a Friday evening, and a packed house full of happy, smiling people (including the staff!) greeted us on arrival. We were a little early for our reservation so had a seat at the bar and were served the best martini of our vacation by a great-natured excellent bartender. Our table was ready right on time, and in a corner, which we always enjoy, because then you can "people-watch" the entire room. :-) Our server was lovely, warm, friendly and very efficient. And now the food: absolutely superb from start to finish!
Our Tuna Tartare and Tomato Fennel Soup appetizers were excellent, and just the right size as a starter. These were followed by a salad of field greens with a lemon and olive oil dressing - sounds so simple, and it was, but so, so yummy. We both chose main courses from the menu of the day, rather than the standard menu, and it was extremely hard to choose, because this is a chef who likes to think outside the box, and the choices were all so creative and unique. After much discussion, we ended up with Seared Tuna, (perfectly prepared, which is an art in itself),
and a new (to us) fish called Nairagi, which we learned is a type of Marlin, found off Hawaii. This is a fish for people who don't like "fishy" fish - like us. It had a delicious, mild flavour and again, was perfectly prepared. Are you getting the idea that we just love The Black Rock Kitchen and Bar? But wait, there's more! We never eat dessert, but on reading the choices, we had to give in. Exquisite Creme Brulee, and THE most delicious Chocolate Brownie I have ever had, covered with some sort of marshmallowy sauce (sorry, I forget what the wording was on the menu - all I know is it was heavenly!) Thank you, Chef and Staff of the BRKB, for providing us with one fabulous evening of gluttony. We will be back on our next trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highlander88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicottville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful ambiance, terrific server, extensive wine list, including a fresh variety of wines, and last but not least, the food was amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
330 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“hip spot in unlikely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A renovated building now boasts an upscale eatery in the up and coming black rock area. The place is sleek, they use their quirky back yard in summer, a couple of small tables on the sidewalk in season. The do weekend brunch, but I,ve only been there for dinner. Food is creative...there are interesting specials. They keep a bit of a tavern vibe with daily drink and bar food specials. I,ve had several meals there, only one was somewhat average...rest were great. I guess you can't hit it out of the park everytime, but they come close. One meal I had their roasted marrow bone....the marrow was missing, I think it had all melted out. Skip dessert here....if its early enough walk down the street to Delish. Service is friendly and competent. One night we were slightly dissapointed to get the slightly dumpy waitrss instead of one of the.more attractive servers (shallow, I know), rurns out she was amazing...right on in her wine and food suggestions...a rare find. A busy place...justly so....reservations advised.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bflobear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
510 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Up and Comer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a tremendously delightful evening at BRKB. It is fairly new to the area. The food is great. The menu is quite varied. The daily specials appear to be the entrees. The actual menu contains sandwiches, salads, and appetizers that are large enough to be a meal or which can be shared. All of the meals in pour party of 6 were great. The flavors were appreciated by all. Our service was also very good.

The evening we were here there was also a very large party to be served. Our meals arrived in a timely manner. It was a bit loud, but perhaps because there was a large party right in the middle of the restaurant. There was also a very active bar service.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing