We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Frank Lloyd Wright's Fontana Boathouse
Ranked #41 of 153 things to do in Buffalo
Attraction details
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Buffalo is blessed to have several FL Wright buildings. All of them great. Watch for the pot holes in road leading to boat house. Great setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amyesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Exquisite Construction of a 100-year old design”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

While we did not get an actual tour of the building, we did have occasion to just walk around the place with the permission of some building users. In truth, the fun stuff to look at is outside anyway. Inside is pretty much a big empty space with racks for storing 30 foot long rowing boats. This design was intended for construction on Lake Mendota in Madison WI but was never built. The 1905 design has been faithfully executed from original designs, BUT the advantage of 100 years of technological advance in construction materials has made a huge difference in the life expectancy of the building. And the roof doesn't leak! Tricky to find, but worth the effort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not Just a Boat House, But a FLW Boat House”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fontana Exec. Director Anne McCooey will lead you on an enthusiastic tour of the only boathouse designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Built in 2007, it's beautifully sited on the Niagara River where it meets Lake Erie. (Univ. of Wis., alums will be interested to learn that it was originally designed in 1905, but never built, for for the university in Madison.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, missouri
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of a unique facility”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I were the only guests on a tour given by Ann of the Fontana Boathouse. She was an excellent guide having been involved with the building process from the beginning. It is very interesting to see an old Wright design built in recent times. Originally designed for a riverside location near Madison, Wisconsin some local Buffalo business men who also row had the idea to buy the design and erect it in Buffalo. The story of how it came to be and how the design was changed (and yet kept the same) was very interesting compared to the stories of original Wright buildings. We also enjoyed learning more about crew rowing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little waterfront architectural gem made for an excellent wedding ceremony!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

When touring the Buffalo area for wedding ceremony spots, we knew it would be perfect for us for many reasons.
- It had a spledid view of the Peace Bridge and the Niagara River connecting to Lake Erie.
- The building is a recently resurrected/built design of locally revered architect, Frank Lloyd Wright. His showcasing of nature and the angles in his designs just wowed us.
- Anne, the director of the building, was extremely kind, informative, and helpful with every question and concern. When we went to the initial meeting to check this place out, we were nervous about them allowing our dog in the building. Anne made us feel at ease immediately when she came downstairs to greet us with a rambunctious family dog leading the way. Everything about our interaction with her was easy-going and stress-free, unlike most places we visited.
- We could easily see this place driving by on the interstate 190, so we could always be reminded of our wedding day when passing.

Our wedding ceremony was yesterday, and went off without a single problem. Hats off to Anne for helping us organize our ceremony and make sure that it was above and beyond what we wanted. You could tell she really cared about us and put in lots of extra work to make us happy. I would HIGHLY suggest this place for your wedding if you are looking for a Buffalo-centric outdoor ceremony. I would also recommend just checking the place out as a FLW or architecture fanatic.
Our day was amazing, as I knew it would be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DukeretxaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Fontana Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fontana Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing