We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, secure and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
St. James, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secure and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

While on a college visit to Buffalo State with my High School Junior, we stayed for two nights in the Hampton Inn. I frequently stay in Hampton's and am very familiar with their decor, service and amenities but this one was a bit above the rest. It looked newly renovated and the decor was upscale and tasteful. Since it is right in the middle of downtown Buffalo, the security was pretty tight--gated parking lot and elevators that functioned only with your room key--something I had not seen before in this hotel chain. The room was spacious and very clean, the beds comfortable and they got my request of no feathers right. The breakfast was typical for a Hampton and the food fairly fresh. In general the front desk staff was very courteous and helpful but the woman who stocked the breakfast was a bit rude, the only downer of the entire stay. My daughter had homework to complete and the wifi and business center were great. We did not use the pool but it was a good size and looked clean. I would recommend this hotel for families, couples or business stays--really close to restaurants and other attractions in Buffalo.

Room Tip: One side of the building overlooks a lot under construction. If you like to sleep in, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Good morning, Michele H, and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy that you had such a lovely experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. We do apologize that our breakfast staff person was less friendly. Our executive housekeeper will address this with her. We believe that we offer something that many other hotels do not offer: free parking, superior staff, complementary and healthy breakfast, and wonderful service. Our hotel was actually renovated over two years ago, but our housekeeping and maintenance staff work tremendously hard to make sure that the property remains in fantastic condition. We welcome you to stay with us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    280
    60
    14
    17
See reviews for
322
360
62
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jinan, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location is really convenient, bus stations are right around the corner, and the restaurants in the building are wonderful. The staffs are welcoming, helpful, and patient. The check-in process is fast and easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shouyi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you so much, Shouyi L, for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. You highlight some attributes of our hotel that we are very proud of: our quick, efficient, and welcoming front desk staff, our great location, and the fantastic restaurants in the area. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. I definitely will recommend this hotel to my friend. The service and breakfast is good. I enjoy my stay here for the last three weeks. In the future, I will select this hotel if this have chance to Buffalo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Xuming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Xuming L, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We know that there are many options in the Buffalo area, and we feel proud that you selected us and have decided to make us your hotel of choice for future travel. So many of our guests are business travelers, so we keep that in mind when catering to guests’ needs. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great stay. My husband an I took a mini trip and stopped in Buffalo for a night. The hotel/room was clean and nice. We had a Jacuzzi tub in the room so that was fun. It is very close walking distance to some nice restaurants and bars.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ehemmel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Good morning, ehemmel2, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your “mini trip” at our hotel. The Jacuzzis are certainly a wonderful feature of many of our rooms. Guests love being able to relax in them! We are very proud of our location, as well. We hope to see you on your next mini-vacation. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Coy Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

A nice place. Extremely clean and well kept. Excellent staff. Nice looking pool. I thought the bed was a little too hard. While better than a lot of hotels, the eggs left something to be desired for breakfast. The coffee was good enough. My friends who stayed at the Hyatt complained about everything. I made the best choice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Good morning, Paul L. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Our housekeeping staff works extremely hard to make sure that our hotel is well-kept. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize that the bed felt too firm and that you did not enjoy the eggs. One of the wonderful thinks about our hotel is its location, and the fact that it is so close to many great breakfast locations. Spot Coffee is directly across the street and serves up a great breakfast sandwich. Thank you again for your kind words and your business; we look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I only stayed for one night, but the hotel exceeded our expectations, it was very clean, very visually appealing and everything was very comfortable and nice. My only complaint was that the TV was a little laggy, but that's not a big deal anyways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kristian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kristian, thank you so much for not only reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor, but also choosing to stay with us! We are so charmed by your description of our hotel. We receive many compliments from our guests regarding our décor and amenities, as well as friendly staff. The television network can be a slower to respond than a normal cable network, and we do apologize for any distress that may have caused. We invite you to stay with us again, the next time you are in Buffalo. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Disappointed in the hotel even though I am a fan of Hampton Inns. Very expensive with little to no room amenities. There were so many young kids on sports teams with little supervision. Very noisy at 11 PM and by 7 AM.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Good morning, William M, and thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not exceptional. This is certainly not the norm with us, as many of our guests agree that our amenities and service are stellar. It has earned us a Lighthouse Award, as one of the top Hampton Inns in the country. That said, sometimes experiences with other guests can color a stay. We do apologize if some of our younger guests were a bit boisterous. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing