We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at many Hampton Inns and I have to say, this is one of the nicest. The decor is modern and fresh, the staff were both friendly and helpful and the security excellent. Our room was the whirlpool King. It was spacious, welcoming and spotlessly clean. Fireplace, chesterfeild, desk and fridge. We stayed just one night and wished we could have stayed more! We'll return

Room Tip: Ask for a whirlpool king near the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We're so happy that you plan on coming back! Thank you for taking note of what we offer guests and sharing it with everyone on TripAdvisor. Everyone on staff works exceptionally hard to make sure that guests get the experience they deserve. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

You cannot find a hotel which is better located in Buffalo. Walk to transit and to restaurants. Easy access to the Erie Canal waterfront area and shopping. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. They have really improved the breakfast with good coffee, fresh fruit and lots of choices. Free parking. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Attknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you! We're so glad that you love our new breakfast options. We are always working towards making our hotel better, so with that more delicious and healthy breakfast options have recently debuted! All of us at the hotel are very excited about recent waterfront developments, making our location that much more coveted. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We moved to Buffalo from NYC and the contrast in the accommodations was stupendous.While it is stating the obvious, the impact on a weary traveler is one which is best felt first hand, can't be described.
It's a nice big hotel with a very family kind of an ambiance. The airport pick-up onward, it's like being taken care of by people your very own. The warmth and eagerness to be of help was very welcoming, but then we were fresh out of NYC.
The hotel's decor is very old-world, classic but elegantly under-stated. The public spaces are nice, spacious, the front office is ever eager to help you out with the local getting around tips and transport ideas to Niagara, our reason for visiting.
The Suite was very beautiful, large and fully furnished in the style of a serviced apartment, the cutlery, electro-mechanical equipment, crockery were superb and complete.
We were traveling with kids and availed of their sofa-cum-bed in the living area, no complaints there either, living was large enough with even the sofa bed stretched out. The bedroom had a corner view of the street below, nice and open , very comfortable bed. The en-suite wardrobe and toilets were adequate and luxurious in decor.
Being with kids meant having to do some cooking , which was easy overall, the only hitch there having been the oversight of the room cleaning service, not cleaning out the dishwasher on both the days we were there. On being pointed out about the lapse(our nine year old scribbled on a note pad " BAD ROOM CLEANER" in his signature scrawny writing while we were checking out), it was nice of the front office to have written back to us with alacrity and apologizing for it. Goes to show that they do attend to all complaints, big or small.

One suggestion on the breakfast menu, some Asian ( read Indian) selection once a while if possible ?

We had a great time over all.

Room Tip: Please ask for a corner suite, excellent views of the cross-roads.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anand4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and comprehensive review of our hotel. We feel great when we are able to accomplish a sense of home for our guests, as we seem to have done with you. Traveling can be exhausting, and we do everything we can to assist people in their journeys, whether they are here for work, a wedding, or a relocation, like yourself. Thank you for your business. We appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our trip was to visit NIAGARA FALLS, we stayed our first night at the downtown Buffalo Hampto Inn and then moved to the Marriott Fallsview in Niagara, Ontario, for a perfect view of the falls. After two nights in Ontario, we had already decided we would tour this area of New York and make the downtown Buffalo Hampton Inn our base of operation, because of our escellent service we had recceived on our first night in Buffalo. We were not disappointed in our choice, the evening desk personnel were fantastic and most accomodating. If we come back to this area of New York, we will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We are so glad that you had an excellent time both at our hotel and in Canada and the Buffalo and Niagara Falls region! Thank you so much for sharing your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very proud to call this part of the country "home." We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent a night in Buffalo. After checking reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here. We were not disappointed at all. Very CLEAN, fresh, and modern. Tastefully decorated. Room was very nice size with very comfortable Queen beds. Lounge on the 2nd floor was very nice, offering complimentary, (help yourself) breakfast. Eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, cold cereal, juice, coffee etc. . Just enough to get you going in the morning. Very close to the Peace Bridge. Gated parking. We would stay at this Hampton Inn again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are very fortunate to have wonderful guests who have shared their positive experiences at our hotel on websites like TripAdvisor. You highlight some great amenities that we are proud to be able to provide to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Buffalo. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everyone is friendly and helpful. Any problems with the room are addressed immediately. I always feel safe and there are several restaurants connected to the hotel so I don't have to get out in the snow! The staff greets me at the door and speaks to me anytime I am in the lobby. Just like home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

With fantastic guests like you, Ms. L, you make our job easy! We are so happy to be able to provide you with excellent customer service and a great location. We understand that the snow can be daunting, especially for guests who are not from the north. We look forward to the next time we get to welcome you back to your home away from home! We sincerely thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I kicked off our week long vacation in Buffalo at this Hampton. Not only was this the nicest looking hotel out of the other Hamptons, Doubletrees, and Hiltons that we stayed in along the way, but the front desk staff was fantastic!

The people:

Mo, Lucia, and Corey - Top notch! Lucia got us checked in and taken care of (she was training, but she handled phone calls, and others waiting to check-in with the coolness and professionalism of a seasoned front desk veteran. Mo helped along the way to make sure everything was being done correctly and gave some great tips about local activities.

Corey deserves a raise. When we came down and talked to him (he must have given us 4 or 5 of the tear-away maps because we kept losing them) he gave us so many tips about food and people watching and the safety of our walking commute. He called us a cab to go down to Allentown (I think that was the name) and we had a blast with local markets, coops, and olive oil stores!

The property:

We drove to the hotel and though parking looked like it may be a hassle, we got it taken care of right away and had no issues!

First, I thought this hotel was built brand new only a few years ago. I was very surprised to hear that it was actually renovated just a while ago. They beautiful wide hallways and incredible trim that ribs the walkway making you feel like you're in a boutique hotel!

The room was fantastic! The carpet, paint, artwork, furniture, and bathroom were spotless and pristine. Definitely one of the best looking hotel rooms I have seen. The breakfast area and lobby area were really neat and modern and comfortable, with books to borrow to read if you're bored!

I could was poetic about how amazing this experience was but that should be enough to steer anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: If you end up with a room that does not have a refrigerator, the front desk will gladly store your l...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ea975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Fantastic! Thank you so very much for your considerate and thorough review! We are so happy to be of assistance to you during your stay in Buffalo. Our entire staff is a tremendous asset to our hotel. Thank you for noting Mo, Lucia and Corey in patricular. They really thrive on sharing their love for our city with guests. Thank you so much for your business. We look forward to seeing you again, when your travels bring you back our way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: $149 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown hotel grants guest access to fantastic bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Enjoy our complimentary amenities including breakfast, free parking and WiFi. Located within 15 minutes of Niagara Falls this hotel connects guest to the experience of a life time and the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing