We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the Hampton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Hampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Downtown Buffalo for one night in early April. We were looking for a relaxing night in between two days of shopping and exploring. We found the Hampton to be a great choice.

We were warmly greeted at the front desk by Nicholas and experienced a smooth and seamless check in process. All questions were answered easily.

Our room and the hotel in general were super clean. Everything looked and felt very new. We stayed in a whirlpool suite and there were plenty of towels, great water pressure and a great room layout. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.

The hotel felt safe, secure and like everything was of a high quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarissaJ632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the high praise. We work very hard to ensure that our hotel not only meets the needs of our guests, but exceeds their expectations. We are very fortunate to have such an attentive front desk staff and hard working housekeeping department. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    280
    58
    14
    17
See reviews for
319
354
62
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mine was a great stay. Close to Niagara Falls and to dining alternatives, clean, efficient staff, free reserved parking & good breakfast.
Only point: conditioning system a bit noisy in the room, but not annoying. A lot of information in the room and in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuTheDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Our location is a point of pride for us, as guests have easy access to Niagara Falls, restaurants, and shopping. We are sorry to hear that the air conditioning unit was louder than you would like. If you do stay with us in the future, and we hope you do, please bring this up if it is bothersome. We can see what we can do to make you as comfortable as possible. Great thanks for your business, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great service, helpful staff and great location! We loved the option of smoking room on seperate floor. Appreciated the hotel security: you have to use your hotel key to get in the elevator. Large choice of breakfast items. Close to great restaurant. Free parking space! And front desk staff were very helpful: they provided maps and directions for us to enjoy our trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. You have highlighted some of the key ammenties that we feel sets us apart from other hotels in the area. Thank you so much for your praise. We really appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. We value your business. Please visit us next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hampton inn downtown was very clean. The front desk staff were very helpful. My family had a lot of fun in the pool. The parking was on the property and fenced in for safety. The suite we stayed in was large and modern/ updated. Although we did provide the hotel with the number of people in our group we did have to call down for extra towels to be brought up because there were not enough for the people in our party. They did this promptly. The in room coffee maker came with two packets of regular and two packets of decaf coffee. More was provided upon request and down in the main lobby they provide a self serve coffee bar with the liquid creamers if you prefer that to the single packet of powder creamer that is in the room. In the rooms you can download an app to your I phone that will control the tv's. The Hampton's location down town is excellent. Very close to the highway and other venues. The "hot" breakfast provided was kept in a warmer that an attendant kept filled. They provide 3 items in the warmer, for instance scrambled eggs and sausage etc. Also a variety of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, bagels and a waffle maker.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHHAPPYDAYHAPPYDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed most of our amenities that we have to offer our guests and thank you for your positive comments. I apologize that we did not have the proper amount of amenities in your room prior to your arrival. I am glad we were able to get them to you quickly upon your request. I hope that you stay with us again if your travels bring you back this way. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice, clean and affordable hotel in downtown Buffalo, near Niagra Falls! Excellent value, and free breakfast! 2 restaurants, one asian fusion called "Papaya", where we ate and was very good. The other called "Chocolate" which by the menu, looked like a continental with a large desert menu. The room was clean and attractive. The included breakfast was well organized, and appealing with options from eggs and bacon, to self made waffels and yogurt. Overall, a nice choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank KatieSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A great hotel...perfect location for what we had to do for the tour
No problems
We would stay at any Hampton hotel....they have always been the best so far....I do believe that we have more Hampton hotels on the the next upcoming tour in May 2013
Really looking forward to the stay as always

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent post about your trip to Buffalo. I value the loyalty to Hampton and we appreciate the business on your upcoming tours. Nice tip on the corner suites. I hope that if your travels bring you back to Buffalo you come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I am (almost) required to stay here on business trips because a friend/colleague is loyal, loyal, loyal to the Hampton Inn chain. More often than not I have to agree with him.

This Hampton Inn is very well located for the business traveler doing work in the downtown area. The staff overall are good, polite, and courteous. Special stand outs are Ryan at the front desk and Peter in the airport courtesy shuttle van. Special kudos to Ricky, Liz, and Tanya for the breakfast on the 2nd floor. The area is always very clean, and the food is tasty and hot.

For my three day stay my room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom was clean with attractive fixtures. The shower was hot and good pressure.

NOTE: There was something to the maid staff on the floor that was a bid odd (6th floor). As my business was just two blocks away, I would duck into my room around mid-afternoon. There were always two maids with carts on the floor, but I never heard a vacuum cleaner being used. Of the two trash baskets in the room, only one had a plastic bag, and even then it hung over the side and not properly placed. Soap was never properly placed. TIP: I left a 'thank you' note and tip after the first night for the maid. She did not leave a 'Thank you' note for me when it was apparent I was staying more than one day. This has never happened to me before.

This hotel provides better value than Hyatt Regency up a few blocks away. However, with taxes and such, I am not 100% convonced this hotel is the best value for the business traveler. A woman down state who was with me this week is loyal to the Embassy Suites next door, which I will try the next time I am up in Buffalo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBBY06831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I cannot thank you enough for giving your special standouts and kudos to so many of our team members. I value your input about our maid service and I am currently evaluating some of our procedures and staff because of the valuable information that you have provided me with. We understand you have many choices when you travel and we appreciate your loyalty. I hope that you enjoy your stay at the Embassy Suites next door on your next visit to Buffalo. The Embassy Suites offer a great product and have been a great addition to our wonderful city. Thank you for your business to the Hilton Family of Hotels. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing