We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother calling”

Queen City Ferry Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queen City Ferry Company offers a water ferry service between Buffalo's inner and outer harbor. Board the Queen City Ferry at the Central Wharf next to the Buffalo Naval Park. The Ferry travels to the Outer Harbor, Erie Basin Marina and along the Buffalo River to Riverfest Park in Buffalo's old First Ward district. Operations are daily from 12:00pm-8pm mid May through September.Round trip takes approximately one (1) hour. Tickets are priced at $8 for adults, $6 for children. Narragted Buffalo River History Tours are available daily from 10:30am-12pm for $14 adults and $10 for children.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't bother calling”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

To be fair I never road the boat. I called 2 months ago to get tickets for a ride over to the outer harbor for a concert. The lady wasn't that helpful and said I could just walk up and get a ticket for the ride over that day. I even asked if it sells out and if I could just get tickets now. She didn't have much information about it even though it was advertised online. Then I called back today with a question and she said it was sold out. So now I have to make other plans. Horrible customer service. Also they need to redo their website with an actual map of where the boat actually stops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank chunterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful "unexpected" boat ride!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great experience on the Queen City Ferry!! An hour ride from iinner harbor to outer harbor- smooth, relaxing ride and only $8.00!! Crew very friendly and informative. If you choose, you can also sign up for a history tour which is 2 hours. Highly recommend this for anyone, natives or out of towners will surely enjoy!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank clauss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NY
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very informative and relaxing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

There were 8 of us who made reservations for a history tour of the Buffalo River. We were the only ones on the boat so it was like our own special tour. The captain was so knowledgeable about the river and the surrounding area. I had never been down the Buffalo River before and was fascinated by what I saw and learned!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandmakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsile, uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nature filled guided Historic Tour on Inner Canals.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Buffalo is a surprisingly beautiful city and Queen City Ferry Historic Cruise gave a tranquil tour showing industry, history and nature in the heart of the city. To find the ferry head for Buffalo County Naval ParK, the ferry is next door on the same landing as Spirit of Buffalo. There is free street parking in the entrance to the Marina. The Historic Tour leaved at 10:30am, Spirit of Buffalo takes a right to go out on the Lake, while the Ferry takes a left and tours the inner and outer canals. Both boats return at the same time 2 hrs later. The tour aims to show Buffalo's Industrial History and how it was once one of the major trading/transport centres and in particular the massive grain elevators along the canal side, including the Cheerio's factory. However what was most amazing was despite being in the city centre the tour was so tranquil and was a haven to nature. Four herons fished alongside the canals,flocks of ducks nested at the grain elevators, and a mother deer and baby bambi came down to the waterside for a drink of water. A totally relaxing and wonderful guided tour for only $14/adults and $10/children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BorderReivers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical history tour”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Buffalo is known as "The City of Good Neighbors," for its friendly, helpful populace, and their enthusiasm for the city. This is definitely the case for the Queen City Ferry tour we took. The ferry is both a water taxi (inner to outer harbor, plus stops at restaurants along the way), or you can sign up for a narrated tour of the waterfront. We did the tour and it was terrific! Rick was our guide, and he was able to bring to life the amazing history of the waterfront and its role in Buffalo's development with many interesting and fun facts! The boat itself is very comfortable with indoor seating (large windows on either side), or you can sit outside. It was pleasant and relaxing. Also, I was on crutches and Rick and Diane were extremely helpful getting me on and off the boat. There is a small bathroom on board. The price is reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Karengoingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen City Ferry Company also viewed

 

Been to Queen City Ferry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing