We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature filled guided Historic Tour on Inner Canals.”

Queen City Ferry Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queen City Ferry Company offers a water ferry service between Buffalo's inner and outer harbor. Board the Queen City Ferry at the Central Wharf next to the Buffalo Naval Park. The Ferry travels to the Outer Harbor, Erie Basin Marina and along the Buffalo River to Riverfest Park in Buffalo's old First Ward district. Operations are daily from 12:00pm-8pm mid May through September.Round trip takes approximately one (1) hour. Tickets are priced at $8 for adults, $6 for children. Narragted Buffalo River History Tours are available daily from 10:30am-12pm for $14 adults and $10 for children.
Carlsile, uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nature filled guided Historic Tour on Inner Canals.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Buffalo is a surprisingly beautiful city and Queen City Ferry Historic Cruise gave a tranquil tour showing industry, history and nature in the heart of the city. To find the ferry head for Buffalo County Naval ParK, the ferry is next door on the same landing as Spirit of Buffalo. There is free street parking in the entrance to the Marina. The Historic Tour leaved at 10:30am, Spirit of Buffalo takes a right to go out on the Lake, while the Ferry takes a left and tours the inner and outer canals. Both boats return at the same time 2 hrs later. The tour aims to show Buffalo's Industrial History and how it was once one of the major trading/transport centres and in particular the massive grain elevators along the canal side, including the Cheerio's factory. However what was most amazing was despite being in the city centre the tour was so tranquil and was a haven to nature. Four herons fished alongside the canals,flocks of ducks nested at the grain elevators, and a mother deer and baby bambi came down to the waterside for a drink of water. A totally relaxing and wonderful guided tour for only $14/adults and $10/children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BorderReivers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical history tour”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Buffalo is known as "The City of Good Neighbors," for its friendly, helpful populace, and their enthusiasm for the city. This is definitely the case for the Queen City Ferry tour we took. The ferry is both a water taxi (inner to outer harbor, plus stops at restaurants along the way), or you can sign up for a narrated tour of the waterfront. We did the tour and it was terrific! Rick was our guide, and he was able to bring to life the amazing history of the waterfront and its role in Buffalo's development with many interesting and fun facts! The boat itself is very comfortable with indoor seating (large windows on either side), or you can sit outside. It was pleasant and relaxing. Also, I was on crutches and Rick and Diane were extremely helpful getting me on and off the boat. There is a small bathroom on board. The price is reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Karengoingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing service”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Amazing services with this company. Smooth boat ride with a great crew to show you around. 5 stars all the way!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

great value...great staff...who knew all that history is on the water !!!!!thank you Queen City Ferry we will visit again!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buffalo's Grain Elevators”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been wanting a close up view of Buffalo's grain elevators and got it. Our guide, Rick, was a wonderful historian and was eager to answer any questions- although he didn't leave much out. We learned a lot about the beginning of Buffalo and it's role in history. The ride was comfortable and pleasant-a good view from every seat. It's not a large boat, so everyone could get personal attention. Rick even told us about other places to visit that I hadn't known about. There were a variety of ages on board and when it was over, everyone raved about how interesting it had been. It was well worth it and I wouldn't mind doing it again sometime later.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen City Ferry Company also viewed

 

Been to Queen City Ferry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing